The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Soccer
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 19, 2012, 05:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Goal Kick Procedure

When the ball has been placed on the ground (in a legal position) in preparation for a goal kick, is it permissible for a player pick up the ball and reposition it to another spot prior to taking the kick?

(Remember, I'm a soccer rookie).

As far as I can tell, all of the restrictions on the goal kick occur after the ball is in play...which occurs when the ball leaves the penalty area.

It seems it should be legal.

However, I've had someone insist that it is not legal once the ball is positioned....claiming it fell under time wasting. Is that true?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scrimmage kick/goal line glt1958 Football 9 Fri Nov 18, 2011 05:34pm
Goal Kick 2nd Touch HawkeyeCubP Soccer 6 Tue Oct 23, 2007 09:06am
Goal kick JerBear Soccer 4 Wed Oct 17, 2007 06:30pm
Free-kick for a field goal after a fair catch tpaul Football 20 Fri Aug 06, 2004 03:21pm
Field goal on free kick? 7Rock Football 7 Thu Oct 10, 2002 08:33am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1