The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Soccer
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Aug 19, 2012, 05:01pm
Official Forum Member

Goal Kick Procedure

When the ball has been placed on the ground (in a legal position) in preparation for a goal kick, is it permissible for a player pick up the ball and reposition it to another spot prior to taking the kick?

(Remember, I'm a soccer rookie).

As far as I can tell, all of the restrictions on the goal kick occur after the ball is in play...which occurs when the ball leaves the penalty area.

It seems it should be legal.

However, I've had someone insist that it is not legal once the ball is positioned....claiming it fell under time wasting. Is that true?
Old Mon Aug 20, 2012, 06:36am
Official Forum Member

No you shouldn't let them reposition the ball as it is delaying the restart. The first time it happens give them a warning, the next time caution. You could go straight to the caution if you've already warned for other time-wasting.
Old Mon Aug 20, 2012, 10:51am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
No you shouldn't let them reposition the ball as it is delaying the restart. The first time it happens give them a warning, the next time caution. You could go straight to the caution if you've already warned for other time-wasting.
Thx.
Old Wed Aug 22, 2012, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
When the ball has been placed on the ground (in a legal position) in preparation for a goal kick, is it permissible for a player pick up the ball and reposition it to another spot prior to taking the kick?

(Remember, I'm a soccer rookie).

As far as I can tell, all of the restrictions on the goal kick occur after the ball is in play...which occurs when the ball leaves the penalty area.

It seems it should be legal.