The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Hockey

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 14, 2022, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 385
Icing?

USA hockey rules apply here, but I'd guess HS would rule similarly.

Team B pulls goalie, team A shoots from behind center red, puck hits the post (or crossbar), and deflects behind the goal line. Actually, I suppose it wouldn't really matter if the goalie were off the ice or not...

Icing? Rule/case reference?

I feel this should be icing as a "shot" that hits iron isn't, technically, a shot.
__________________
Dan R.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2022, 05:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,021
Yes, it is icing. USA Hockey Rule 624 (a) states the following: When a player of a team shoots, bats with the hand or
stick or deflects the puck from their own half of the ice
completely beyond the goal line of the opposing team, play
shall be stopped and a face-off shall take place at an end
zone face-off spot in the defending zone of the offending
team.
Nowhere in the exceptions does it note the puck passing through the crease or striking the goalpost. The puck has to have "entered the goal as a result of a legal action" for icing to be nullified and the goal to count.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Icing the puck Fed2You Hockey 2 Tue May 19, 2015 01:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1