Thread: Icing?
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2022, 05:57pm
ilyazhito ilyazhito is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,051
Yes, it is icing. USA Hockey Rule 624 (a) states the following: When a player of a team shoots, bats with the hand or
stick or deflects the puck from their own half of the ice
completely beyond the goal line of the opposing team, play
shall be stopped and a face-off shall take place at an end
zone face-off spot in the defending zone of the offending
team.
Nowhere in the exceptions does it note the puck passing through the crease or striking the goalpost. The puck has to have "entered the goal as a result of a legal action" for icing to be nullified and the goal to count.
Reply With Quote