![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
The play I saw, was the receiving team called for a fair catch, the punt hit one of the kicking teams players in the back. The punt receiver was not close enough to catch the punt, however after it hit the player in the back, he picked it up and ran with it.
I wasnt sure if hitting the kicking teams player downed the ball or not. They spotted the ball approximately where the fair catch was called. I assume that since the fair catch was called, you cant advance?? This was an college game by the way. |
|
|||
|
You are correct that once a fair catch is signaled, the ball will be dead when Team B (receiving team) recovers and they cannot advance the ball. The ball hitting the kicking team player in the back is considered illegal touching and in this case Team B would have the option of taking the ball at that spot or the result of the play.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Does this apply even if the receiving team has no chance at all to catch the ball? Ive seen the fair catch signal, and the ball sail way over the receiver. This was kinda the case I saw, the ball was 20 yards left of the receiver. |
|
|||
|
No, they can't advance if they've signaled a fair catch. If the receiving team signals a fair catch, the ball will be dead as soon as they possess it. Absent a fair catch signal, the ball will still be live when they recover and they can advance it.
With an illegal touch, the receiving team simply has the right to have the ball placed where it was touched and will start their series there. They can also opt to accept the result of the play if that is more advantageous to them.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
First touching. The receiving team can take results of play or take the ball at the spot where kicking team touched it.
Receiving team could pick the ball up run it 20 yds fumble and kicking team recover it. It would still be receiving teams ball at spot of first touching by kickers. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| IP by R during a punt | w_sohl | Football | 18 | Sat Sep 21, 2013 05:54am |
| Punt blocked, can I punt again? | REFUMPIRE | Football | 28 | Mon Oct 17, 2011 06:14am |
| Downing a scimmage kick, goal line - NCAA | Sonofanump | Football | 13 | Thu Jan 18, 2007 06:48pm |
| Downing a punt | rice037 | Football | 8 | Wed Nov 23, 2005 10:18pm |
| downing a punt???????????// spot.. | otis3zeb | Football | 22 | Thu Sep 29, 2005 07:01pm |