The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jun 03, 2014, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member

Question on NFHS Formations

I am fairly new to coaching (3rd year) and this is my first year as a head coach (for a 3rd & 4th grade team).

I am a bit confused about illegal formation vs ineligible down field in respect to NHFS rules. As I understand it, there is no ineligible receiver down field penalty in NHFS, correct?

If so, would a formation such as
Code:
    XYTGCGT
    4   3   2
be legal? The TE and WR on the LOS next to each other, with the QB(1), FB(3) and two wing backs(2 & 4) in the backfield.

We only run out of this formation and have never been called on it, but it
would be illegal in the NFL since the TE(Y) is covered by the WR(X) and the RT is uncovered.

Under NHFS, can I also pass to X or Y out of this formation?

Our league does not enforce numbers, any number can play any position. We had a QB at number 77 2 years ago

Thanks

Last edited by 29Rocket; Mon Jun 09, 2014 at 08:29am.
Old Tue Jun 03, 2014, 03:49pm
Do not give a damn!!

The only eligible receivers by position are the X and the T on the line and everyone in the back field and they are only eligible if they have an eligible number.

I cannot speak specifically for NFL rules, but the rule on this are basically the same. I know NFL players can report to be eligible on the end of the line, but not sure how that is done procedurally.

Peace
Old Tue Jun 03, 2014, 03:52pm
Archaic Power Monger

Your understanding that there is no ineligible downfield penalty is incorrect.

For your purposes, all of your backs and the ends on the line of scrimmage are eligible. There is no foul in NFHS for having an ineligible player uncovered.

Since your league does not use the numbering rules, are they requiring any kind of special identification for the eligible players?

Code:
   XYTGCGT