![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Yes. The ball would have gone much further, and could conceivably have been caught by the receiver before it made it to the ground.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
If the pass is not intercepted you have different facts on the play. Since you can now consider the contact the category would be early contact not playing the ball. |
|
|||
Quote:
The intercepting defender and the interference happened almost right next to each other, within a couple yards. |
|
|||
Seriously? They happened about 7 yards apart.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Try watching the play. You'll sound less ridiculous that way.
The point where Gronkowski is initially interfered with and the point where the ball is intercepted are maybe two yards apart. |
|
|||
That's where the interference ended (and where the hard to miss interference happened). The important interference, the hand pushing on the shoulder, starts quite close to the point of interception.
|
|
|||
7 yards is an exaggeration... but 2 yards is about equally as far off.
The spot where the intercepting defender and Gronk pass each other is about 3 yards from where the ball was caught. But the interference doesn't occur until at least a full step and a half later. If you're calling this 2 yards, then I believe you are determining interference on this play FAR earlier than it actually happened. At 2 yards, at most both players are playing handsies (no competent official would call interference on either the receiver swatting the defender's hands or the defender swatting the receiver's - at least not this far before the ball arrived). Gronk takes another step (now 3 1/2 yards from where the ball is eventually caught), and then during the next step as he seems to attempt to slow down (Rut's protestations aside) is when the defender (who failed to slow down) runs into him, begins the interference, and makes it worse by bringing his arms down to pin Gronk's arms. The interference begins 4-5 yards behind where the ball is actually caught - BOTH players took 2 steps in opposite directions before that happened.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
And didn't the officials on field confer and JUDGE that the interception and interception occurred simultaneously? You have one official looking at one thing, another looking at something else. Then they have to get together and put the picture together. Same as in basketball when you have a foul off-ball on the offense and the officials have to determine if the foul occurred before or after the shot was released.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
The interference started before the grab. It happened immediately when Gronkowski was shoved. |
|
|||
Regardless how far behind/beyond him? Or how much time between? If so, that philosophy materially changes the rule!
|
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
I want you guys in the "No DPI" camp on the NE/Carolina play to watch this play starting at the 4:00 mark in the video:
GameDay: Denver Broncos vs. New England Patriots highlights - NFL Videos The Denver receiver is running a "go" route straight down the field. Talib for NE does hold the receiver, but Manning severely underthrows the ball and there is zero chance the receiver would have caught it. It gets intercepted, but they stick with the holding call. How is this any different than last week's play? I thought if the ball was underthrown and not catchable by the offensive player and it was intercepted, they "philosophy" was to ignore the defensive penalty. When Talib catches Manning's underthrown pass he is eight yards in front of the receiver who was running the complete opposite direction. Edit: Go to 5:20 and watch the PI no-call when the Patriots have the ball in OT also. How is that not DPI? Last edited by zm1283; Mon Nov 25, 2013 at 10:31am. |
|
|||
Quote:
If a hold occurs prior to the ball being thrown, it is a hold. If it is while the ball is in the air, it is pass interference.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Only in England | ukumpire | Softball | 21 | Thu Jun 28, 2007 03:41pm |
Visiting Boston from England | ukumpire | Softball | 1 | Fri Mar 09, 2007 09:37pm |
New England at Jacksonville | Mark Dexter | Football | 11 | Fri Jan 05, 2007 02:45pm |
Camps in the New England | Jay R | Basketball | 11 | Sun Apr 02, 2006 07:12pm |
England & Ireland | ukumpire | Softball | 0 | Thu Sep 08, 2005 12:12pm |