![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
A flag was thrown. The ball wasn't uncatchable, considering where the contact began. If there's ANY chance he gets to that ball, the flag needs to stick. I see nothing that would warrant picking the flag up. And then to run off the field without offering an explanation at all makes it seem that much worse. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Gronk seems to continue on his route due to his momentum (with only a little dragging going on). I don't see Gronk struggling to return to challenge the interception. Well if the officials decided the interception rendered the potential pass interference or holding contact incidental, would that warrant picking up the flag? Cuz that's what they did. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If Gronk makes a an effort to reverse his momentum towards the ball, the flag may well have stuck. |
|
|||
|
I've come around on this play myself from first being DPI to now thinking that this was not only the right call but that the play was well officiated all around.
The B made the only call he could, which was that of DPI. He is not in a good position I don't think to rule on the catchability of the pass. After the play, he is immediately coming in looking for additional information. The S and the U both come in immediately to provide that information. The flag is then picked up, the announcement is made and the game is over. Living with a flag here because it was thrown would mean ignoring additional information which is clearly what we should not be doing on a play. We are constantly being taught that if another official has information to help take another off of a flag, we should do so. What better time than the last play of the game? As to the actual catchability of the pass, I do not think that it was catchable. Gronkowski made no attempt at all to get back to the ball and the pass was well under thrown resulting in it being picked up before it came close to reaching him. I think his own momentum carried him further away from the spot where the ball was going to end up. Note that Mike P. said that the argument could be made that the pass was uncatchable but that the flag was thrown so they should go with a penalty. Frankly I find that line of thinking a little baffling, especially if the end goal is to get the call right. Gerald Austin, also a supervisor of officials in CUSA, thinks they made the right call. They disagree, just like we do here.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
The Referee did offer an explanation in his final announcement.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
That is all he is required to do. Long-winded Ed Hochuli-esque explanations are not the norm among white hats. They don't have to offer their reasoning at the time, they just have to communicate 1) what their call was, and 2) the result of the call. The R did both in his announcement.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
He didn't, really. This is the only thing I think they did poorly. R merely says, "There is no flag for interference. The game is over."
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Only in England | ukumpire | Softball | 21 | Thu Jun 28, 2007 03:41pm |
| Visiting Boston from England | ukumpire | Softball | 1 | Fri Mar 09, 2007 09:37pm |
| New England at Jacksonville | Mark Dexter | Football | 11 | Fri Jan 05, 2007 02:45pm |
| Camps in the New England | Jay R | Basketball | 11 | Sun Apr 02, 2006 07:12pm |
| England & Ireland | ukumpire | Softball | 0 | Thu Sep 08, 2005 12:12pm |