The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 04, 2013, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Well replay cannot determine forward progress under the current rules. And the whistle is not the issue. If the replay official was told this was a forward progress play and the ball was ripped out, then they could not overturn based on when the whistle blew.

Peace
The the referee should have stated forward progress was stopped, not that the runner was down by contact.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 04, 2013, 12:23pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
First of all, I'm a huge Longhorn fan.

First play. Clearly a fumble. They didn't rule his forward progress was stopped, which isn't reviewable, correct? They ruled him down by contact, which is reviewable. They reviewed it and still didn't change it. In my view it was a fumble.

Second play. Again, clearly looks like a fumble to me, but I do believe that Gray recovered the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 04, 2013, 12:29pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by SE Minnestoa Re View Post
The the referee should have stated forward progress was stopped, not that the runner was down by contact.
True, but clearly the issue was forward progress as you cannot determine that. And it was not an actual fumble as much as the ball being stripped out of the hands of the player. So the only issue was forward progress IMO.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 04, 2013, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Those stating that you can't review when forward progress is stopped are not correct. It is true that if it is ruled on the field that forward progress is stopped, that cannot be overturned by review...

But FP is ruled routinely on review plays. Almost every single "Did he make the first down" review is a FP decision. And MANY fumble / no fumble decisions are FP decisions in the end (otherwise you could just hold him up in a pile, keep him off the ground and knock the ball out - and unless they could see it on the field, it would always be a fumble).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 04, 2013, 02:36pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Those stating that you can't review when forward progress is stopped are not correct. It is true that if it is ruled on the field that forward progress is stopped, that cannot be overturned by review...

But FP is ruled routinely on review plays. Almost every single "Did he make the first down" review is a FP decision. And MANY fumble / no fumble decisions are FP decisions in the end (otherwise you could just hold him up in a pile, keep him off the ground and knock the ball out - and unless they could see it on the field, it would always be a fumble).
If it is a first and 10 play and the play gains 5 yards, they are not reviewing FP. If it involves the line to gain, it can be. This was not even an issue of the GL being crossed. This was an issue was is FP stopped and should the play have continued. That is basically what we were told by our guys in an association that work that level. I should have been more clear. And yes they do review fumble, not fumble situations, but clearly the play was ruled dead before the ball was ripped out. I think that is why there was no overturn on the call.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 04, 2013, 02:40pm
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
It is true that if it is ruled on the field that forward progress is stopped, that cannot be overturned by review...
Which may be why "down by contact" was what was announced as "ruled on the field."

It's pretty obvious from the overhead camera angle that the ball was ripped out by #52 *after* FP had been stopped & the ball carrier was being pushed backward.

If the on-field officials weren't really sure when the ball was ripped out and they wanted IR to review, they *couldn't* (by rule) say that they had him down by FP.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 04, 2013, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Those stating that you can't review when forward progress is stopped are not correct. It is true that if it is ruled on the field that forward progress is stopped, that cannot be overturned by review...

But FP is ruled routinely on review plays. Almost every single "Did he make the first down" review is a FP decision. And MANY fumble / no fumble decisions are FP decisions in the end (otherwise you could just hold him up in a pile, keep him off the ground and knock the ball out - and unless they could see it on the field, it would always be a fumble).
I was not aware of this. I learn something every day (I'm a BB board lurker). This leads me to a follow up question.

The White Hat announced the ruling on the field was "down by contact" which allowed for the review. With your above statement, I think you are saying that the review could result in a determination that forward progress had stopped prior to loss of possession.

However, the announced result of the review was that "the play stands as called." Well, as called was "down by contact." To me, such an announcement means that the review official did not find indisputable video evidence to overturn "down by contact." If the review official disagreed with "down by contact" but made a forward progress ruling, wouldn't that require more of an explanation than "the play stands as called?" Or do I have too high of expectations on post-review explanations?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 04, 2013, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCRC View Post
I was not aware of this. I learn something every day (I'm a BB board lurker). This leads me to a follow up question.

The White Hat announced the ruling on the field was "down by contact" which allowed for the review. With your above statement, I think you are saying that the review could result in a determination that forward progress had stopped prior to loss of possession.

However, the announced result of the review was that "the play stands as called." Well, as called was "down by contact." To me, such an announcement means that the review official did not find indisputable video evidence to overturn "down by contact." If the review official disagreed with "down by contact" but made a forward progress ruling, wouldn't that require more of an explanation than "the play stands as called?" Or do I have too high of expectations on post-review explanations?
The play stands as called almost always means "We don't have enough evidence to change anything."

If they agreed he was down by contact after the review, they would say, "The ruling on the field was confirmed."

(Of course, the TD 2 plays later was also "play stands as called" when there was literally no doubt of the score).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 04, 2013, 04:39pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Big 12 Says Officials Got the Play Right

Big 12: Officials made right call in Texas-Iowa State game
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 05, 2013, 10:27pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar View Post
Watching in real time, I thought forward progress was stopped, and Gray recovered his first and only fumble.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clip(s): Iowa State v. Ohio State APG Basketball 26 Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:16pm
More from Kansas/Iowa State JetMetFan Basketball 8 Fri Mar 01, 2013 12:09pm
Kansas / Iowa State Rich Basketball 3 Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:19pm
Iowa-Texas Penalty bisonlj Football 25 Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1