The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 04, 2013, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Those stating that you can't review when forward progress is stopped are not correct. It is true that if it is ruled on the field that forward progress is stopped, that cannot be overturned by review...

But FP is ruled routinely on review plays. Almost every single "Did he make the first down" review is a FP decision. And MANY fumble / no fumble decisions are FP decisions in the end (otherwise you could just hold him up in a pile, keep him off the ground and knock the ball out - and unless they could see it on the field, it would always be a fumble).
I was not aware of this. I learn something every day (I'm a BB board lurker). This leads me to a follow up question.

The White Hat announced the ruling on the field was "down by contact" which allowed for the review. With your above statement, I think you are saying that the review could result in a determination that forward progress had stopped prior to loss of possession.

However, the announced result of the review was that "the play stands as called." Well, as called was "down by contact." To me, such an announcement means that the review official did not find indisputable video evidence to overturn "down by contact." If the review official disagreed with "down by contact" but made a forward progress ruling, wouldn't that require more of an explanation than "the play stands as called?" Or do I have too high of expectations on post-review explanations?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 04, 2013, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCRC View Post
I was not aware of this. I learn something every day (I'm a BB board lurker). This leads me to a follow up question.

The White Hat announced the ruling on the field was "down by contact" which allowed for the review. With your above statement, I think you are saying that the review could result in a determination that forward progress had stopped prior to loss of possession.

However, the announced result of the review was that "the play stands as called." Well, as called was "down by contact." To me, such an announcement means that the review official did not find indisputable video evidence to overturn "down by contact." If the review official disagreed with "down by contact" but made a forward progress ruling, wouldn't that require more of an explanation than "the play stands as called?" Or do I have too high of expectations on post-review explanations?
The play stands as called almost always means "We don't have enough evidence to change anything."

If they agreed he was down by contact after the review, they would say, "The ruling on the field was confirmed."

(Of course, the TD 2 plays later was also "play stands as called" when there was literally no doubt of the score).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 04, 2013, 04:39pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Big 12 Says Officials Got the Play Right

Big 12: Officials made right call in Texas-Iowa State game
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 05, 2013, 10:27pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar View Post
Watching in real time, I thought forward progress was stopped, and Gray recovered his first and only fumble.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 10, 2013, 09:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 508
First play, forward progress was stopped, Second was a fumble. Hard to tell who recovered. IMO.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clip(s): Iowa State v. Ohio State APG Basketball 26 Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:16pm
More from Kansas/Iowa State JetMetFan Basketball 8 Fri Mar 01, 2013 12:09pm
Kansas / Iowa State Rich Basketball 3 Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:19pm
Iowa-Texas Penalty bisonlj Football 25 Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1