The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 12:37am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Slap the LJ upside the head first of all.

Not sure how you can do anything with an encroachment when the LJ never shut the play down. That would kill the play. And I do not consider a BIB a safety foul, so it is not like you have to stick with that call. Bottom line, slap the LJ upside the head or get another one.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 01:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Battle Creek, MI
Posts: 383
Is there rule support as how to officiate this play? Or is it just up to the Referee? I would be leaning towards enforcing both, because the play did run and both fouls did occur.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 03:10am
KWH KWH is offline
Small Business Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portland Oregon USA
Posts: 520
Unhappy

Encroachment is ALWAYS a dead ball foul and ALWAYS prevents the ball from ever becoming live.
It is not possible to enforce a Dead Ball BIB foul, since, technically, it did not occur.

Therefore, absent of a Personal Foul, enforce the encroachment and move on.

The Rules Book support you are looking for simply does not exist!
The Line Judge made an officiating error. Now you are suggesting penalizing a team due to an officials inability to understand a BASIC rule. Their would never be Rules Book support for such a suggestion.
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 05:09am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
The lesson is know when to stop the play. Like KWH says, you cannot have both fouls if one kills the play. A BIB would not be relevant if the play was already dead and if the contact was not a personal foul. Otherwise I would not even think about the BIB. The line judge screwed up, plain and simple. He has to learn from this and move on.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 05:42am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Agreed, and make him go with the R to explain why the BIB isn't being enforced and why he didn't blow it dead.

It happens. I assume this was a sub-varsity level game since "tonight" = Thursday? Better to learn there than Friday.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 08:09am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLin NC View Post
Agreed, and make him go with the R to explain why the BIB isn't being enforced and why he didn't blow it dead.

It happens. I assume this was a sub-varsity level game since "tonight" = Thursday? Better to learn there than Friday.
He said they met tonight, not that the play was tonight.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 08:32am
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
There is rule support for this. Encroachment makes the ball dead. The players moved around some during a dead ball, and there was some contact that would have been a foul had the ball been live. But since it wasn't blocking by rule, which takes place only during a live ball, it couldn't be illegal blocking.

Since the ball is dead, only dead-ball fouls such as illegal personal contact are still on the table. So the crew actually had a choice: pass on the IBB or rule it a DB PF for unnecessary roughness, depending on the severity of the contact.

Given that the crew screwed up by not clearly signaling that the ball was dead, I'd have trouble going with option 2.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1