The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 24, 2013, 12:57pm
Broadcaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: LaGrange, Ga.
Posts: 364
Is this legal in NFHS?

Eastern Kentucky-Morehead State:

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 24, 2013, 01:00pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Provided that it was caught behind the NZ (very close), yes.

If beyond the NZ, then it would be a dead ball, R 1/10, and some risk of KCI (obstructing R's path to the kick).
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 24, 2013, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Yep...

Provided the kick did was caught behind the NZ, the player could have passed it forward or even kicked it again.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 24, 2013, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Sorry Maven....

You beat me to the punch

Last edited by asdf; Tue Sep 24, 2013 at 01:28pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 24, 2013, 01:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Honestly, this play should have been ended at the moment of the catch - he was beyond the NZ, and HL should have caught that.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 24, 2013, 02:04pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Honestly, this play should have been ended at the moment of the catch - he was beyond the NZ, and HL should have caught that.
I don't think so, myself. LOS was the 40, he caught it at the 40. Unless he's clearly illegal, he's legal, IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 24, 2013, 04:14pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
I don't think so, myself. LOS was the 40, he caught it at the 40. Unless he's clearly illegal, he's legal, IMO.
His first touch might have been at the forty, but possession was gained at the 41, IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 08:25am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
When he actually comes down and makes the catch, I think it is close but the ball seems to be right on the 40 with his right leg at around the 41. Speaking NCAA any touching in or behind the neutral zone before the kick crosses the neutral zone is ignored.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 08:41am
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
When he actually comes down and makes the catch, I think it is close but the ball seems to be right on the 40 with his right leg at around the 41. Speaking NCAA any touching in or behind the neutral zone before the kick crosses the neutral zone is ignored.
That's what I see. If not clearly beyond, it's behind.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 11:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
In NFHS is it the NZ or ENZ??

ART. 3 . . . Any K player may catch or recover a scrimmage kick while it is in
or behind the neutral zone and advance, unless it is during a try.


ART. 5 . . . When any K player touches a scrimmage kick beyond the expanded neutral zone to R’s goal line before it is touched beyond the neutral zone by R
and before the ball has come to rest, it is referred to as “first touching of the kick”
and the place is the “spot of first touching.” Such touching is ignored if it is
caused by R pushing or blocking K into contact with the ball.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 12:15pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
It is as it reads- Article 3 is the NZ, Article 5 is the ENZ

Article 5 is to allow the touching in the ENZ to be ignored by linemen attempting to bat or block the kick. Without that you'd have 1st touching awfully close.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
Quote:
Article 5 is to allow the touching in the ENZ to be ignored by linemen attempting to bat or block the kick. Without that you'd have 1st touching awfully close.
When any K player touches a scrimmage kick beyond the expanded neutral zone to R’s goal line


Why would K linemen be trying to bat the kick???


I don't get why one part of the rule says nz and another part says enz.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight

Last edited by bigjohn; Wed Sep 25, 2013 at 01:53pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 26, 2013, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
So if K recovers a kick (beyond the NZ) that hits a K player in the ENZ that would result in a first down say it was 4th and 1 it is not a first down but Rs ball, correct?

That is the only part I really think is a bit cloudy.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 26, 2013, 01:01pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Its ignoring what would be first touching by K in the ENZ, otherwise.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legal or not legal player splitveer Basketball 4 Wed Feb 10, 2010 01:10pm
NBA Logo Legal in NFHS? NathanRT Basketball 16 Thu Feb 07, 2008 08:10pm
Legal Blocking Technique? (NFHS) UmpJM Football 23 Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:27pm
NFHS legal windup SMEngmann Baseball 88 Wed Apr 13, 2005 01:05pm
Religious head scarf legal? (Girls NFHS) Robmoz Basketball 17 Sun Nov 21, 2004 02:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1