The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 16, 2013, 08:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 37
Lineman recieving handoff

Is it legal for a lineman to recieve a handoff and run the ball? NFHS. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 16, 2013, 08:58am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,647
In a very limited circumstance, yes. He must pivot and do a 180 and face his own goal line to do so.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 16, 2013, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwaz View Post
Is it legal for a lineman to receive a handoff and run the ball? NFHS. Thanks
Yes. They can be handed the ball after the snap at any time by a player in possession of it who's not behind him, and under certain conditions by a player who is behind him. The conditions are set out in 7-3-2 in the form of those forward handoffs which are not allowed. However, it is very common in children's football for certain players, designated by a mark on their helmet, by virtue of their weight to not be allowed to advance (or pass, hand, or kick) the ball once they gain possession of it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 16, 2013, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLin NC View Post
In a very limited circumstance, yes. He must pivot and do a 180 and face his own goal line to do so.
Not if the player handing him the ball was not ahead of him.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 16, 2013, 09:44am
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
Not if the player handing him the ball was not ahead of him.
Not entirely correct.


A player can hand the ball forward to another player provided that:
a) both players are in or behind the neutral zone
b) there has not yet been a chance of possession during the down.

NFHS 7-3-2.
7-3-2a talks about when it's legal to hand the ball to a lineman.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 16, 2013, 10:07am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman
Not if the player handing him the ball was not ahead of him.

Hence the phrase "limited circumstance". I do not feel compelled to copy and paste every rule phrase out of the Arbiter to satisfy your misguided, nit picky, obsession with football trivia.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 16, 2013, 11:02am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,741
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwaz View Post
Is it legal for a lineman to recieve a handoff and run the ball? NFHS. Thanks
What do you mean by lineman?

Hint: If you're talking about someone who usually plays guard wearing a number like 53 and is lined up in the backfield, he's not a lineman on that play.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 16, 2013, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
What do you mean by lineman?

Hint: If you're talking about someone who usually plays guard wearing a number like 53 and is lined up in the backfield, he's not a lineman on that play.
I mean a guard legally on the LOS at the snap. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 23, 2013, 07:29pm
KWH KWH is offline
Small Business Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portland Oregon USA
Posts: 520
Cool The difference between a Lineman and a Back

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
What do you mean by lineman?

Hint: If you're talking about someone who usually plays guard wearing a number like 53 and is lined up in the backfield, he's not a lineman on that play.
He is not, Rich you should perhaps read it again.

Jwaz is correctly referring to a "Lineman" as in NFHS 2-32-9

Rich on the other hand is describing a "Back" as in NFHS 2-32-3
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 23, 2013, 08:42pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by KWH View Post
He is not, Rich you should perhaps read it again.

Jwaz is correctly referring to a "Lineman" as in NFHS 2-32-9

Rich on the other hand is describing a "Back" as in NFHS 2-32-3
And that was clear in the OP?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 23, 2013, 08:54pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,741
Quote:
Originally Posted by KWH View Post
He is not, Rich you should perhaps read it again.

Jwaz is correctly referring to a "Lineman" as in NFHS 2-32-9

Rich on the other hand is describing a "Back" as in NFHS 2-32-3
Perhaps I'm thinking it's possible that the OP was incorrectly using the word lineman? Wouldn't be the first time someone has done that, after all.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 08:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
ART. 2 . . . If a fumble or a backward pass is caught or recovered by any player,
he may advance.


A lineman can receive a hand-off any time as long as it is not a forward hand-off, right?
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 08:34am
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
7-3-1
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 08:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
7-3-1


that covers handing the ball but not taking the handoff, does it?


I mean, that pivot 180% crap only effects forward handing, correct??
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight

Last edited by bigjohn; Fri Sep 27, 2013 at 09:38am.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 27, 2013, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
7-3-1


that covers handing the ball but not taking the handoff, does it?


I mean, that pivot 180% crap only effects forward handing, correct??
Yes, as I wrote above at #3 & #4, before further posts muddied the water.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Handoff = OOB ? MelbRef Basketball 17 Wed Oct 12, 2011 03:36pm
Handoff question sj Football 2 Fri Sep 23, 2011 08:55am
Inside handoff OFF Coord Football 6 Tue Dec 07, 2004 07:33am
forward handoff MI Official Football 0 Thu Sep 23, 2004 09:41am
Out of Bounds handoff force39 Basketball 7 Fri May 10, 2002 08:24am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1