The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 20, 2013, 03:28pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref1973 View Post
Reviewing the rule 8-5-2b makes we want to say safety, however the fundamental statement (Page 80, Section II, No. 3) makes me want to go touchback for K. They seem contradictory.
Well... one of your two options is correct.

Read 8.5.1 Situation C
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 20, 2013, 03:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
Well... one of your two options is correct.

Read 8.5.1 Situation C
Yeah I get that. But haven't we just made a fundamental statement not so fundamental?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 20, 2013, 04:12pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref1973 View Post
Yeah I get that. But haven't we just made a fundamental statement not so fundamental?
Which one?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 20, 2013, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1 View Post
Which one?
Page 80 in the rule book. Section II, No. 3
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 20, 2013, 07:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChickenOfNC View Post
Page 80 in the rule book. Section II, No. 3
To elaborate:

Was R first to touch a scrimmage kick beyond the neutral zone? Check
Was a new series awarded to the team in possession at the end of the down? Oops
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 20, 2013, 09:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
Here's my take on it...
By all my instincts I would say touchback. However, a key element here is that unless a scrimmage kick has been grounded a "muff" does not add a new force. (2.13.3 pg 28.) Therefore, in this situation, regardless if the kick was first touched by R (muffed in the OP) beyond the NZ no new force is added and therefore it would be a safety.

Example 9-44 2012 Redding study guide page 126

"Punter K10 is standing in his own end zone when he kicks the ball. it crosses the nuetral zone, strikes either R45 or K63 in flight in the helmet and rebounds into the end zone. Ruling. Safety in either case. It doesn't matter which player touched the ball. the initial force is from the punt, and a new force cannot be applied while the ball is in flight."

And then we ask, what if the same kick is recovered by K on their one yard line instead of the EZ? I am thinking since we don't have a ball going into the EZ force is not a factor and then it would be 1/10 for K from their one since R was first to touch punt beyond NZ.

Last edited by whitehat; Tue Aug 20, 2013 at 09:48pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 20, 2013, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 225
I agree with all of that whitehat, but have we not still violated a football fundamental? I dont believe it belongs as a fundamental if there are exceptions to its rule
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Test Question Ever Scooby Basketball 34 Sat Nov 17, 2012 03:00pm
ASA Test Question 11 (JO FP) NCASAUmp Softball 14 Sun Feb 26, 2012 09:41am
ASA test question RKBUmp Softball 16 Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:14pm
Test Question #40 golfdesigner Basketball 24 Wed Oct 20, 2004 07:47am
test question 25 zac Basketball 21 Mon Oct 11, 2004 03:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1