The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2003, 09:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 12
played a game this weekend. Our league plays by NFL rules. We were in a double slot/double split formation. We brought our left Slot in motion across the formation. On the snap the playside slot blocked down on the first inside man while the motioning slot was to kick out the corner while the SE stepped back and took the screen pass. Well the Corner reacted and crossed the line. Just as the ball got to the SE the slot collided with the Corner. The pass was incomplete, but we were flagged 15 yards for it and it was a loss of down penalty. They called it an illegal pick. Can someone tell me if this was the right call?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2003, 10:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Where was the pass 1st touched (either by the ground or by a player? Behind or beyond the line of scrimmage?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2003, 10:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 12
The SE first touched the pass.. he dropped it... but he had taken 2 steps off the line.. so it was first touched behind the line.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 14, 2003, 10:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
No foul then.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2003, 07:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 12
Thats what I thought.. We lost 10 yards on the play plus lost the down. The next play we run the ball for 9 yards which would have been close to a first down if they wouldnt have gave us that penalty. I will be sure from now on to speak to the officials before the game to check on what their ruling on that would be. Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2003, 07:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 223
It looks like you got jobbed two ways. First, you can't have OPI behind the line. Second, I believe in NFL rules OPI is not a loss of down. You're right, get the rules clarified before the game.
__________________
Steve
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1