The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2012, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
This is incomplete in NCAA.

NCAA AR 7-3-6 XV

Eligible A80 is airborne near the sideline when he receives a legal forward pass. As he comes to the ground facing the field of play, his
toe (a) clearly drags the ground inbounds before he falls out of bounds; (b) touches the ground inbounds and then his heel comes down on
the sideline in a continuous motion. He maintains firm control of the ball in both cases.

RULING: (a) Complete pass. (b) Incomplete pass. The continuous toe-heel touching is part of a single process and by interpretation he has landed out of bounds, thus not executing a catch.
This is one of those approved rulings that seems to have no cx to the rule, nor to any logic I understand! The dragging of the toe (which surely was eventually followed by the player's taking a normal stance, and out of bounds to [heh] boot), is not just as much part of a single process? I guess this is one of those things the sec'y must've answered a question about one day cursorily, and they put it in the book while never bothering to conform the rule to it or it to the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 12, 2012, 10:06pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Incomplete in Canada.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Entire Team Suspended for Fight grunewar Baseball 5 Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:10pm
Working the entire court umpire99 Basketball 15 Thu Feb 08, 2007 02:38pm
does lead have entire endline? sc/nc ref Basketball 11 Sat Feb 19, 2005 12:38pm
My appologies to the entire State of Texas!! Gulf Coast Blue Softball 11 Sat Jul 20, 2002 04:55am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1