![]() |
|
|||
Spiking the ball
Coach tells me tonight a ref the other day said his qb could not take a step then spike the ball that it was IG. He said the official said he had to spike be ball before moving his feet. The rulebook makes an exception for the immediate throwing of the ball to the ground but what qualifies as immediate. I have never called this IG, have you or have you heard of someone who has?
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
The rule specifies two conditions for a legal spike to stop the clock: it must come after a direct, hand-to-hand snap (no shotgun), and it must be immediate. 7-5-2e EXCEPTION
The first is pretty straightforward. The second is a judgment call: but clearly the QB needs to take a step or two back from the snapper in order to have space to spike it. The purpose of the "immediate" restriction is to prevent a team from running a play, failing to find an open receiver, and then deliberately grounding the ball in order to conserve time. Perhaps the coach was confabulating, or confusing something an official told him, or even reporting correctly something an overzealous official did in his game. Who knows? All you can do is understand better what the correct answer is! ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Spiking the ball. | Illini_Ref | Football | 6 | Wed Sep 20, 2006 12:46pm |
Ball, ball, ball, ball, ball, ball, ball, ball...: The Cover | rainmaker | Basketball | 3 | Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:12am |
Screaming "BALL BALL BALL" during girls games | drinkeii | Basketball | 90 | Mon Jul 11, 2005 09:53am |
Legally putting ball in play, dead ball violations | BJ Moose | Baseball | 20 | Tue Aug 26, 2003 10:09am |