The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 24, 2012, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
The NFL has a similar rule to the NCAA one.

Rule 8, Section 5 Pass Interference

Article 3 Permissible Acts by both teams while the ball is in the air.

...

Note 3: Whenever a team presents an apparent punting formation, defensive acts that normally constitute pass interference are permitted against the end man on the line of scrimmage, or against an eligible receiver behind the line of scrimmage who is aligned or in motion more than one yard outside the end man on the line, provided that the acts do not constitute illegal holding. Defensive holding, such as tackling a receiver, still can be called and result in a five-yard penalty from the previous spot, if accepted. Offensive pass interference rules still apply.
The NFL rule is not similar to the NCAA rule at all. The NCAA rule only applies if the flight of the ball looks like it could have been a kick. (Which is VERY rare, especially after this rule was written). The NFL rule only requires that they be in scrimmage kick formation to for this rule to apply.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 26, 2012, 10:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
We had a coach use this play in a game a few years ago. He even described it to us in pre-game and told me before the snap they were going to run. He went nuts when we didn't flag it. The reason? The receiver out ran the defender and there was no contact.

I do like the NCAA rule that doesn't allow this silliness. But if it happened in a HS game I would have to call it if the defender was contacting the receiver even if the pass was thrown high like a punt.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 27, 2012, 04:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by bisonlj View Post
But if it happened in a HS game I would have to call it if the defender was contacting the receiver even if the pass was thrown high like a punt.
You would not have to call it if you judged that the contact was "clearly away from the intended receiver." IMO, on this play the offense does not get the benefit of any doubt concerning the intended receiver. 7.5.11A (a), 7.5.11B
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1