![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
This whole mess started with bad mechanics by the H. I will assume that NCAA keys have him taking the 2nd receiver.
At the snap, he moves immediately downfield. However, this places you out of position when players need to "come back to the ball". At the time of the INT, he was actually closer to the B GL and than the players were. As such, he was not in position to see a bobble that may have taken place, and he was straight-lined in respect to the player's knees. If he read the play better, he would have held the LS, or at least vacate the LS at a slow rate. Then, he would have seen the action from between the LS and the INT, and he would have properly seen that no knee touched the ground.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
|
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
|
ESPN website clip: Tennessee vs Vanderbilt Highlight - ESPN Video - ESPN
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
This actually raises kind of an interesting issue.
When does bad judgement become an IW, by rule? I mean, if it is a close play, and I judge that the runner is down and blow my whistle, how is that different (if at all) from an IW? After all, I judged that the runner was down, so it isn't really IW, right? It might be wrong, but that is different (I think) from me seeing a player go down, blow my whistle, and THEN realize that player doesn't even have the ball (for example). In that case, it is clearly an IW, and hence the IW rules should be applied, as opposed to just saying the play is over...right? I guess what I am getting at is that this isn't necessarily a IW at all - the covering official thought the runner was down. He was wrong of course, but then, officials are wrong sometimes. Sometimes we think the runner stepped out when they did not, that isn't an IW, right? Sometimes we think the pass was incomplete when it isn't, that isn't an IW either. Nobody is going to get the chance to replay the down when the wing guy says the runner stepped OOB even if they did not. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
What did the wing official do? He BACKED UP from the LS, rather than going downfield! And guess what? He had a great look on the play.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| CWS - Plate Ump @ Vandy v. Florida | MikeStrybel | Baseball | 21 | Fri Jul 08, 2011 11:24pm |
| Tenn vs Vandy | grunewar | Basketball | 12 | Wed Jan 21, 2009 11:01am |
| BC vs. Vandy muffed punt | yankeesfan | Football | 16 | Sun Jan 04, 2009 03:53pm |
| Tenn-Vandy FT | bucblue | Basketball | 13 | Thu Feb 28, 2008 12:02am |
| Incredible ending!!!!!!!! Vandy/WSU | Nevadaref | Basketball | 9 | Wed Mar 23, 2005 12:45am |