The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 12, 2011, 08:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 22
Oregon 2-pt play?

In the Stanford game, the Oregon long snapper snapped the ball sideways in the swinging gate formation, and then went out for a pass, caught the ball and scored. How can the snapper be an eligible receiver?
__________________
"Who you talkin' to?
You talking to me?
You're gonna be outta
here in about 3 seconds!"
-Tim Higgins
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 12, 2011, 09:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
He was wearing an eligible number and was on the end of the line so under NCAA rules, he was eligible
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 12, 2011, 09:10pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
The person that snaps the ball does not need to be an ineligible pass receiver.

It's just that it usually is.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 12, 2011, 09:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXMike View Post
He was wearing an eligible number and was on the end of the line so under NCAA rules, he was eligible

As he would have been under NFHS rules as well.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 12, 2011, 11:55pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
As he would have been under NFHS rules as well.
CANADIAN RULING:

Legal.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 13, 2011, 04:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 178
he wasn't standing with his shoulders perpendicular to the neutral zone, though, was he? (like the Maine / James Madison game)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 13, 2011, 07:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
No he was lined up legally
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 13, 2011, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoothieking View Post
In the Stanford game, the Oregon long snapper snapped the ball sideways in the swinging gate formation, and then went out for a pass, caught the ball and scored. How can the snapper be an eligible receiver?
What you're really asking is, how can an end be the snapper? And the answer is that the rest of the OL doesn't have to be on both sides of the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 13, 2011, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 22
Thanks for the replies. I was looking for clarification that the player snapping the ball could indeed be an eligible receiver.
__________________
"Who you talkin' to?
You talking to me?
You're gonna be outta
here in about 3 seconds!"
-Tim Higgins
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 13, 2011, 03:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoothieking View Post
Thanks for the replies. I was looking for clarification that the player snapping the ball could indeed be an eligible receiver.
NCAA and NFHS have the same restrictions on eligibility. The player must be BOTH (1) a back or end, AND (2) wearing an eligible number (1-49, 80-99).

These are the ONLY conditions on eligibility. So if the snapper meets them, he's eligible.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 13, 2011, 06:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
NCAA and NFHS have the same restrictions on eligibility. The player must be BOTH (1) a back or end, AND (2) wearing an eligible number (1-49, 80-99).
Except that in NCAA, condition 1 is to be a back, an end, or a player in position to receive a hand-to-hand snap from between the snapper’s legs. That last position in Fed is defined as a back, but NCAA has not chosen to make that consolidation. NFL still hasn't extended eligibility to receive a forward pass to a player in that position.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2011, 02:58pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
I didn't see the play as I left the room after Oregon scored, but don't the coaches usually check with the refs before the game to discuss the legality of trick plays.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 16, 2011, 08:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
For NFHS, this exception to the numbering requirements as noted in 7-2-5(b) might be the only time a snapper would not be allowed to be an eligable receiver:

1. On first, second or third down, when A sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation as in 2-14-2a, the snapper may be a player numbered 1 to 49 or 80 to 99. If Team A has the snapper in the game under this exception, Team A shall have at least four players wearing numbers 50-79 on its line of scrimmage. The snapper in the game under this exception must be between the ends and is an ineligible forwardpass receiver during that down unless the pass is touched by B (7-5-6b).
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 16, 2011, 08:17pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Ump View Post
For NFHS, this exception to the numbering requirements as noted in 7-2-5(b) might be the only time a snapper would not be allowed to be an eligable receiver:

1. On first, second or third down, when A sets or shifts into a scrimmage-kick formation as in 2-14-2a, the snapper may be a player numbered 1 to 49 or 80 to 99. If Team A has the snapper in the game under this exception, Team A shall have at least four players wearing numbers 50-79 on its line of scrimmage. The snapper in the game under this exception must be between the ends and is an ineligible forwardpass receiver during that down unless the pass is touched by B (7-5-6b).

So, on fourth down or an extra point attempt the jersey numbering doesn't apply, per say? Clue me in as I'm clueless of the rule as I don't work football.

Just trying to learn a little more or the obscure rules and situations that apply.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2011, 08:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Ump View Post
For NFHS, this exception to the numbering requirements as noted in 7-2-5(b) might be the only time a snapper would not be allowed to be an eligable receiver:
The snapper is usually ineligible because he usually has a number between 50-79 and because he's not an end or back, either of which would render him ineligible.

I'm not sure why people confuse the numbering exception with the eligibility requirements. They are unrelated, other than the fact that a player in the game under the numbering exception is ineligible throughout the down.

ANY player who is eligible by number and position is eligible, including the snapper, on any scrimmage down including a try.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Congrats to OSU (no, not that one - the one in Oregon) Mark Padgett Basketball 18 Mon Apr 06, 2009 01:30pm
Oregon IRISHMAFIA Softball 5 Fri Jun 16, 2006 08:36am
New uniforms in Oregon Nevadaref Basketball 1 Sat Oct 22, 2005 01:21pm
Oregon officials - please help Mark Padgett Basketball 1 Tue Aug 05, 2003 04:49pm
Oregon vs. Arizona Mark Padgett Basketball 5 Sat Jan 05, 2002 07:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1