![]() |
|
|
|||
1. ILLEGAL FORWARD PASS
a. Pass after team possession has changed a: END during the down. Loss of 5 Yards OF b. Pass from beyond the neutral zone. RUN c. Pass intentionally thrown into an area not b, c, d and e: occupied by eligible offensive receiver. Loss of 5 yards d. Pass intentionally thrown to save loss of and yardage or conserve time. Loss of Down EXCEPTION: It is legal to conserve time by intentionally throwing the ball forward to the ground immediately after receiving a direct hand-to-hand snap. e. A second or subsequent forward pass during the down I think table 7-5-2 d should be edited to say "incomplete" just like rule 7-5-2d does.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz! Bobby Knight |
|
|||
Really confused with what any of what you posted bigjohn has to do with the video.
![]()
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
By what is in the table it would be an illegal pass. It was thrown to save time or yardage, in the rule the word "incomplete" makes it a legal pass because even though the pass was thrown to save a sack it was not incomplete. I am saying if you only looked at the table with this play you could rule IG.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz! Bobby Knight |
|
|||
I also say the runner was down before the pass.
ART. 2 . . . The ball becomes dead and the down is ended: a. When a runner goes out of bounds, is held so his forward progress is stopped or allows any part of his person other than hand or foot to touch the ground.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz! Bobby Knight |
|
|||
Coach - Are you trying to say the pass was illegal as it would have been called int grounding IF it had fallen incomplete? IF a frog had wings he wouldn't be dragging his butt on the ground.
You are way too literalistic on the rules |
|
|||
I don't think bigjohn is contesting the ruling from the video. I think he is pointing out an editorial error in the rulebook.
Rule 7-5-2-d states: Quote:
Quote:
The table should be edited to reflect the rule.
__________________
Mark NFHS, NCAA, NAFA "If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men" |
|
|||
How can anyone say that the pass was thrown to avoid loss of yardage? If I am looking at the right video, it appears to me that the pass was thrown to an area occupied by an eligible receiver, and caught by that receiver. That's one of the ways to avoid a foul, right? Of course I'm no NF official, but NCAA that takes away IG when you get the ball to the area of a receiver.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Mary Struckhoff Announces Resignation from NFHS Staff | CecilOne | Softball | 11 | Wed Nov 02, 2011 01:05pm |
The obligatory 4th out... | bdub712 | Baseball | 9 | Mon May 22, 2006 04:42pm |
Off topic - Hail to the .... | tomegun | Basketball | 16 | Mon Jan 16, 2006 09:35am |
Interesting comments from Mary Struckoff. | JRutledge | Basketball | 49 | Wed Jul 27, 2005 03:05pm |
LSU Hail Mary: An Infraction? | Husker John | Football | 2 | Tue Nov 12, 2002 11:42am |