![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Since it sounds like the snap was quick, continous and immediately left the centers hand(s), and definately touched the ground before touching a lineman, I would say this was a legal snap and play on. However, if any of these things does not happen, then it would be an illegal snap and the ball would be blown dead.
Since a snap is defined in the rule book(s) you do not use the definition of a pass to determine legality of the snap. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
how does this happen
How does it immediately leave his hands before touching the ground if he rolls it???
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you" |
|
|||
|
Can a backwards pass be rolled? as the snapper is moving the ball backwards it has to be passed or thrown to get it rolling, now if he turns the ball on the ground it is a snap infraction.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz! Bobby Knight |
|
|||
|
you have to throw the ball at the ground to get it rolling. as long as it is backwards it is legal isn't it?
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz! Bobby Knight Last edited by bigjohn; Tue Sep 13, 2011 at 12:33pm. |
|
|||
|
7-2-8
ART. 8 . . . Any A player on his line of scrimmage may not advance a planned loose ball in the vicinity of the snapper. Doesn't say a back can't advance a planned loose ball, does it?
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz! Bobby Knight |
|
|||
|
agreed
Agreed a back may advance a loose ball...the question remains, did we have a loose ball or an illegal snap....in order for a ball to be loose it must be live, in order for it to be live the snap must be legal....and then there is the chicken and the egg....
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you" |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|