The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 03, 2011, 02:30pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Quote:
I believe it is a judgement call.
Well then there is no need to look for further opinion nor have an argument about it

9.2.3 SITUATION C: Quarterback A1 drops back 15 yards and throws a legal
forward pass intended for A2, who is 5 yards behind the neutral zone.
Before the pass reaches A2: (a) B1 tackles A2; or (b) B1 blocks A2. RULING: In (a), tackling A2 is a foul, as it is a form of holding. Defensive players are prohibited from grasping an opponent other than the runner. The foul in (a) occurs during a looseball play, and the 10-yard penalty will be administered from the previous spot. In (b), the contact by B1 is not pass interference and, if the block itself is legal, there is no infraction. (7-5-10)

Not sure how this gets any clearer. We can safely assume that if he is the intended receiver, then he obviously NOT a potential blocker.

Last edited by HLin NC; Sat Sep 03, 2011 at 02:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 03, 2011, 05:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
Read 9-2-3(d) and tell me where in that rule that it only applies downfield.

The case play references a block. That infers that the offensive player is still a potential blocker. No argument here.

I maintain that a back (eligible receiver) who is turned and about to catch a pass is NOT a potential blocker any longer. Say the defender gets around him and wipes him out. First of all, that is a tackle of someone without the ball which is holding (a tackle does NOT have to be a wrap up). Second, contact with an eligible receiver that is no longer a blocker is illegal.

If a receiver is downfield but the QB still has the ball when the receiver is hit from the side and knocked down, is that a foul? Can't be PI but of course it is a foul. Why? Because the receiver was no longer a potential blocker.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 03, 2011, 09:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illini_Ref View Post
First of all, that is a tackle of someone without the ball which is holding (a tackle does NOT have to be a wrap up).
The foul is illegal use of hands, specifically holding. There's no foul for tackling. An attempt to knock someone down isn't illegal use of hands per se.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 04, 2011, 09:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illini_Ref View Post
Read 9-2-3(d) and tell me where in that rule that it only applies downfield.

The case play references a block. That infers that the offensive player is still a potential blocker. No argument here.

I maintain that a back (eligible receiver) who is turned and about to catch a pass is NOT a potential blocker any longer. Say the defender gets around him and wipes him out. First of all, that is a tackle of someone without the ball which is holding (a tackle does NOT have to be a wrap up). Second, contact with an eligible receiver that is no longer a blocker is illegal.

If a receiver is downfield but the QB still has the ball when the receiver is hit from the side and knocked down, is that a foul? Can't be PI but of course it is a foul. Why? Because the receiver was no longer a potential blocker.
You are right to think that this provision applies everywhere. But eligibles behind the NZ are ALL potential blockers: the entire defense is in front of them! The purpose of this rule is to prevent cheap shots on receivers downfield who are not part of the play.

That's not correct. Just because he has turned does not me an he's no longer a potential blocker: he could turn again and block.

It depends. If the covering official judges that the receiver has run away from the defender and the pass has gone elsewhere, then you'd have illegal use of hands. But if the play is coming up behind this receiver and he might block, then it's legal.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 04, 2011, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The purpose of this rule is to prevent cheap shots on receivers downfield who are not part of the play.
I don't believe that, because there's already coverage for that as a personal foul.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 04, 2011, 12:18am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLin NC View Post

Not sure how this gets any clearer. We can safely assume that if he is the intended receiver, then he obviously NOT a potential blocker.
OK, but the ball is in the air and this has to do with the ball being actually thrown. This is really not the debate that is being had (at least by me or IR that I am aware of). If the ball is not thrown you can have a penalty that has nothing to do with DPI.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 04, 2011, 06:24am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
B may push, pull, or ward off an opponent to get to a loose ball. What is a pass? B may also block A if it is a legal block.

As long as the A player and the ball aren't beyond the LOS and there is no IUH and there is a legal block the play is legal. The Federation's own casebook says it is. All this other stuff has to do with downfield and PI.

Good luck explaining it when you call it there in Illinois.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 04, 2011, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLin NC View Post
B may push, pull, or ward off an opponent to get to a loose ball. What is a pass? B may also block A if it is a legal block.

As long as the A player and the ball aren't beyond the LOS and there is no IUH and there is a legal block the play is legal.
Considering that B can push or pull, what would be illegal use of hands? Yanking up on a leg, maybe?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Longer a Potential Blocker Ed Hickland Football 64 Sat May 25, 2013 03:29pm
Kickoff Hits Blocker - Goes OOB Spence Football 5 Sat Oct 09, 2010 12:17pm
Blocker laying on defensive player jrfath Football 3 Fri Sep 23, 2005 09:12pm
Hat Blocker BuggBob Softball 21 Thu May 26, 2005 05:54am
Back Row Blocker Spaman_29 Volleyball 6 Sun Oct 13, 2002 03:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1