The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 16, 2003, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
Re: Re: Uncle Ernie's March Quiz


Quote:

3. A 4/10 A40. A99's punt is high. B45 is in position to make a catch at the B30. Just as B45 is receiving the punt (touching the ball) A25 "de-cleats" him with a ferocious hit, causing him to muff the ball. The ball is subsequently recovered by A45 on the B25.
I believe the rule states that B must be given an unhindered opportunity to CATCH the ball.



[/B][/QUOTE]
That was my first thought too Mike. But the only “unhindered opportunity” references I’ve found so far pertain to PI restrictions. What I did find was NF> 6-5-6, and it states in part "While any scrimmage kick is in flight K shall not touch the ball or R unless blocked into the ball or R or to ward off a blocker , nor obstruct R's path to the ball “.
If B45 is already in position to make a catch and is touching the ball before A25 "de-cleats" him I see no reason to penalize K for a well timed hit as long as the contact is legal. So my final ruling on this one was K 1/10 @ R-25 , clock on snap


Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1