|
|||
A89 runs a route straight down the field. A88 lined up on same side of field takes two steps downfield turns in and blocks B26.
A: Before ball is thrown. B: While ball is in flight to A89. C: Ball thrown is uncatchable. |
|
|||
Offensive Pass Interference
All three cases are OPI in NF rules since the contact was beyond the neutral zone. PI restrictions for A begin with the snap and the pass being uncatchable has no bearing in NF rules.
If A88 made immediate contact with B26 at the line and drove him downfield then there is no foul. In these three cases, however, it's pass interference. |
|
|||
Quote:
The way the play is written, it sounds like A88 initiated the contact. When the pass happens is of no consequence. A88 has commited Offensive PI. For a pass play, restrictions begin for the offense at the snap. NFHS rules do not have a catchability provision. Ruling in all cases: OPI. 15 yards from previous spot and loss of down. ACK! Several people beat me to it! [Edited by mikesears on Jan 28th, 2003 at 12:23 PM]
__________________
Mike Sears |
|
|||
Maybe im reading this wrong but why can't A88 take 2 steps and block B26 before the ball is thrown? if the balls not in the air you have nothing but a clean block.Receivers are allowed to block.
Now on B & C I have OPI but On A I have nothing but a legal block. Maybe you guys are thinking this is a pick play but its not, the receiver(A89) ran straight down field and A88 threw a block before the ball was in the air. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
MJ,
maybe I should have read the name on the post again. damn if it doesn't say PICK play. forward pass interference doesn't start at the snap though. restrictions start at the snap only if A hinders B.(pick) if the qb takes the snap and rolled out to the other side of the field than A89 and A88 were on and throws the ball to A80 do we still have OPI? |
|
|||
forward pass interference doesn't start at the snap though. restrictions start at the snap only if A hinders B.(pick)
It does start at the snap for A. It starts for B when the pass is in the air. As far as this whole scenario happening on the side of the field away from the ensuing throw and catch, there's a no call there and a talk with the kid who blocked. |
|
|||
I still disagree with you, Forward pass interfernce only starts at the snap if A hinders B.
if A is blocking for a running play and the qb see's a man downfield and throws the pass, are you telling me that its OPI? as long as the linemen are not past the expanded neutral zone then we have a legal play right? |
|
|||
I think we're talking about two different things here. The A lineman can block as long as they make immediate contact and do not go beyond the expanded neutral zone.
If a back or end blocks on a pass play (a pass that crosses the NZ) downfield before the ball is caught, its PI. If a lineman is going out to block for a screen and blocks his man downfield and the back catches the ball beyond the line, what do we got? OPI, that's what. |
Bookmarks |
|
|