The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 22, 2011, 07:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Fed FBZ accidentally ends

A1 snaps on the A35. A2 at the A33 seems to unintentionally have the snap glance off him. The ball rolls to the A29, where A2 picks it up and runs to the A40, where he is down. Meanwhile A3, playing a position on A's line within 4 yards of where the ball was previously spotted, takes one step back before cutting B1 at the knees.

Does the recent Fed interpret'n on blocking below the waist help determine whether A3's action is legal? Do you decide on the basis of whether the errant snap looked intentional?

What do you do about cases where a player of A appears to carry out an assignment that involves clipping, blocking in the back, or blocking below the waist on a play where the ball appeared to have first accidentally left the FBZ without that player's being aware of it? Do you rule on the basis of strict liability because it's a safety rule (although it's not clear to me that the rule about blocking in the back is so)? Do you rule on the basis of what the player knew or should have known?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 24, 2011, 02:13pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
I am not aware of any interpretation that allows leeway for the ball "unintentionally" leaving the FBZ.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 24, 2011, 03:34pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Thre isn't one and I've no idea what in the world he's talking about.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 24, 2011, 10:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
What I'm talking about is that Fed has published an interpret'n based on how to rule when the ball is apparently intended to be snapped to a point outside the FBZ and does leave the FBZ. They're saying that in that case you don't actually have to observe when contact is initiated relative to the time the ball leaves the FBZ, they have another way to rule on it which is the same as some state associations had adopted.

So what I'm looking for is whether you think the same interpret'n would apply or not to a case where the ball leaves the FBZ apparently accidentally but quickly on the snap, or indeed whether this ruling has any bearing on how you'd rule, by clarifying the intention of the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 24, 2011, 10:27pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Can you cite the case book reference to which you refer?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 25, 2011, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
I saw it quoted at Huey's last week:

2.17.2 SITUATION E: A1 is in shotgun formation, lined up seven yards behind the line of scrimmage ready to receive the snap. Immediately after the snap to A1, (a) A2 immediately drops and blocks B1 below the waist or (b) A2 rises, and slightly retreats as if to go in traditional pass blocking protection, but then dives and blocks B1 below the waist. Both A2 and B1 were in the zone and on the line of scrimmage at the snap. The contact between A2 and B1 takes place in the freeblocking zone. RULING: It is a legal block in (a) and an illegal block below the waist in (b). It is legal for A2 to block B1 below the waist if the contact is made immediately following the snap. Any later, and the ball is considered to have left the free-blocking zone and the block is illegal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It never ends Mark Padgett Basketball 9 Sun May 23, 2010 09:14pm
Odds and Ends... jdmara Basketball 13 Sun Nov 16, 2008 01:10pm
And so ends my season... wadeintothem Softball 6 Tue Nov 11, 2008 12:07pm
Throw-In ends, huh RushmoreRef Basketball 32 Wed Dec 19, 2007 03:47pm
Throw-in ends Kelvin green Basketball 8 Fri Dec 15, 2006 08:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1