The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 26, 2011, 05:20am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Quote:
only for cases where the ball was both intended to be, and was successfully, snapped out of the FBZ.
I don't think we have to deal with intent. The ruling never said "don't look to see what actually happened to the ball at the snap." The ruling deals with a narrow situation in which the committee assumes its a successful shotgun snap and thus allows an A lineman to commit a legal BBW in that limited circumstance. Add any other variable to it and you now don't have the case play, you've created your own and trying to extrapolate a ruling from a limited circumstance.

Botched plays occur all the time. We don't waive ineligible downfield on a busted scrimmage kick because A intended to punt but ended up throwing a pass while some of their lineman drifted off downfield.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 26, 2011, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
Robert,

A's "intention" of where the ball was "supposed go" is immaterial. All that matters is where the ball did go and when the block happens.

You are using a poor case book example for your point. In that example A1 is 7 yds back, clearly out of the zone. What NFHS rules is it is possible for A linemen to legally BBW if it is done immediately after the snap because they deem the ball to still be in the zone in this type formation. If there is any delay, the ball is out & BBW is now illegal. Consider the time it takes the snapped ball to travel 3+ yds vs the reaction times of the linemen to grasp their point. Personally, I don't think it's possible for them to legally BBW at all, but that's a whole other argument.

In your example, A1 sets up 2 yds behind the line, which when you think about it is just about standing directly behind the center. So now, if A1 muffs the snap, the covering official is going to have to determine if the ball rolled out of the zone prior to the BBW or not. The ball rolling out after a muff/fumble is no different than if it gets carried out or thrown out or whatever.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 26, 2011, 03:41pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Quote:
Because I coach. I'm a lot less interested in things like the color of whistles or of eye black, and a lot more in things that can actually affect the game.
While issues of eye black WILL effect you this season as a coach, I'm sure pink whistles do not. I don't care much about the topic either as our state supervisor told us last year "don't even ask." However, for some of us it is a topic of interest.

I appreciate your efforts to apply what officials might rule towards a coaching situation. I believe that MikeL and I have provided reasonable answers to your question. It just took some time and probing to figure out what it was you were asking. Its been a standard NFHS prinicple for officials to usually not be required to devine intent.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It never ends Mark Padgett Basketball 9 Sun May 23, 2010 09:14pm
Odds and Ends... jdmara Basketball 13 Sun Nov 16, 2008 01:10pm
And so ends my season... wadeintothem Softball 6 Tue Nov 11, 2008 12:07pm
Throw-In ends, huh RushmoreRef Basketball 32 Wed Dec 19, 2007 03:47pm
Throw-in ends Kelvin green Basketball 8 Fri Dec 15, 2006 08:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1