The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 28, 2010, 10:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 146
First and . . .

A's ball 1st and goal at the 4. 2 plays and 2 sacks later it's 3rd down and goal from the 35. On 3rd down, B commits pass interference on an incomplete pass. Down and distance?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 28, 2010, 10:43pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by BroKen62 View Post
A's ball 1st and goal at the 4. 2 plays and 2 sacks later it's 3rd down and goal from the 35. On 3rd down, B commits pass interference on an incomplete pass. Down and distance?
NFHS: 1st and 10 from B's 20. The penalty is 15 yards from the previous spot and an automatic first down.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 28, 2010, 10:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
What Rich said.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 29, 2010, 05:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
NFHS: 1st and 10 from B's 20. The penalty is 15 yards from the previous spot and an automatic first down.
What he said
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 29, 2010, 08:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: midwest/plains
Posts: 402
Amen.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 29, 2010, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,081
Is this one of those NFHS trick questions?
__________________
Every game is a big game
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 29, 2010, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
NCAA: depends on where the DPI occurred. If within 15 yards, a spot foul. If more than 15 yards, 15 yards. Either way, first down and 10.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 29, 2010, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodwillRef View Post
Is this one of those NFHS trick questions?
Sort of, almost, but not quite.

Does the fact that this occurred under Fed Rules during overtime change anything?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 30, 2010, 04:24am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by BroKen62 View Post
A's ball 1st and goal at the 4. 2 plays and 2 sacks later it's 3rd down and goal from the 35. On 3rd down, B commits pass interference on an incomplete pass. Down and distance?
CANADIAN RULING:

Team A 1D/10 @ PLS if the PF is < PLS.
Team A 1D/10 @ PF if the PF is < 15y from PLS.
Team A 1D/10 @ B-20 if the PF is > 15y from PLS.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1