The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   First and . . . (https://forum.officiating.com/football/59575-first.html)

BroKen62 Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:23pm

First and . . .
 
A's ball 1st and goal at the 4. 2 plays and 2 sacks later it's 3rd down and goal from the 35. On 3rd down, B commits pass interference on an incomplete pass. Down and distance?

Rich Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BroKen62 (Post 698712)
A's ball 1st and goal at the 4. 2 plays and 2 sacks later it's 3rd down and goal from the 35. On 3rd down, B commits pass interference on an incomplete pass. Down and distance?

NFHS: 1st and 10 from B's 20. The penalty is 15 yards from the previous spot and an automatic first down.

BktBallRef Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:56pm

What Rich said. :)

footballref Fri Oct 29, 2010 05:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 698713)
NFHS: 1st and 10 from B's 20. The penalty is 15 yards from the previous spot and an automatic first down.

What he said

Reffing Rev. Fri Oct 29, 2010 08:12am

Amen.

GoodwillRef Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:19am

Is this one of those NFHS trick questions?;)

Texas Aggie Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:53am

NCAA: depends on where the DPI occurred. If within 15 yards, a spot foul. If more than 15 yards, 15 yards. Either way, first down and 10.

BroKen62 Fri Oct 29, 2010 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 698789)
Is this one of those NFHS trick questions?;)

Sort of, almost, but not quite.

Does the fact that this occurred under Fed Rules during overtime change anything?

kdf5 Fri Oct 29, 2010 03:54pm

That depends on which state this happened in. In some states it's possible to have first and ten so this play could be 1/10 from the 20. My state uses the NF OT so it would be 1/Goal from the 20.

BktBallRef Fri Oct 29, 2010 10:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BroKen62 (Post 698864)
Does the fact that this occurred under Fed Rules during overtime change anything?

Actually, I started to mention OT. However, how did it get to be A's ball 1st and goal at the 4? I guess there are ways but it's kinda weird.

Rich Fri Oct 29, 2010 10:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BroKen62 (Post 698864)
Sort of, almost, but not quite.

Does the fact that this occurred under Fed Rules during overtime change anything?

Wouldn't matter here in WI. We start at the 25 and use the chains in OT.

Cobra Sat Oct 30, 2010 01:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 698904)
Actually, I started to mention OT. However, how did it get to be A's ball 1st and goal at the 4? I guess there are ways but it's kinda weird.

Ball was at the 8 yard line, pass interference by the defense. I wouldn't say that is weird. Weird would be a blocked field goal muffed by B beyond the neutral zone which then rolls back behind the neutral zone, recovered by A and advanced to the 4 yard line.

JugglingReferee Sat Oct 30, 2010 04:24am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BroKen62 (Post 698712)
A's ball 1st and goal at the 4. 2 plays and 2 sacks later it's 3rd down and goal from the 35. On 3rd down, B commits pass interference on an incomplete pass. Down and distance?

CANADIAN RULING:

Team A 1D/10 @ PLS if the PF is < PLS.
Team A 1D/10 @ PF if the PF is < 15y from PLS.
Team A 1D/10 @ B-20 if the PF is > 15y from PLS.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1