The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 06, 2010, 06:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 146
Punt behind NZ

This happened to us the other night - K's ball 4th and 10 at their 40. Punt is straight up, hit the ground beyond the NZ, bounced back behind the NZ, comes to rest @37. K comes up, touches the ball, R comes in, picks it up and scores. We never blew it dead. Was that right?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 06, 2010, 06:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 60
nz abbreviation?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 06, 2010, 06:47pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by Official View Post
nz abbreviation?
Neutral zone.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 06, 2010, 07:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Warren, Ohio
Posts: 254
Send a message via Yahoo to umpirebob71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Official View Post
nz abbreviation?
Have you taken any kind of officiating class? NZ is pretty basic.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 06, 2010, 07:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by BroKen62 View Post
This happened to us the other night - K's ball 4th and 10 at their 40. Punt is straight up, hit the ground beyond the NZ, bounced back behind the NZ, comes to rest @37. K comes up, touches the ball, R comes in, picks it up and scores. We never blew it dead. Was that right?
In all current major USAn and Canadian codes, yes. In NCAA, because the ball touched ground on R's side of the neutral zone, R would have a theoretic choice of the touchdown or 1st down at the spot of touching by K.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 06, 2010, 08:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
In all current major USAn and Canadian codes, yes. In NCAA, because the ball touched ground on R's side of the neutral zone, R would have a theoretic choice of the touchdown or 1st down at the spot of touching by K.
Under NFHS rules, there is no first touching on this play as the ball was touched by K BEHIND the NZ.

K could actually have picked the ball up and advanced it.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 07, 2010, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Under NFHS rules, there is no first touching on this play as the ball was touched by K BEHIND the NZ.

K could actually have picked the ball up and advanced it.
He could also have kicked it again.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 07, 2010, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 508
The question I have is how long do we wait after the ball comes to rest before we kill it?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 07, 2010, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by parepat View Post
The question I have is how long do we wait after the ball comes to rest before we kill it?
Until we judge that no player is attempting to secure possession. 4-2-2(e)(2)
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 07, 2010, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
He could also have kicked it again.
I doub he knew he could run with it or that he could have kicked it again.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 07, 2010, 06:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
I doub he knew he could run with it or that he could have kicked it again.
Agreed.

Have had K grab the ball, get the deer in the headlights look, then put the ball on the ground.....

....followed by R picking the ball up and running........


Each situation is a cluster because not many players know what to do with a kick recovered by K behind the NZ.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2010, 07:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NW OH
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
He could also have kicked it again.
Okay, I probably missed it when looking for it but could someone please give me a reference for this.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2010, 07:41am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
The scenario we passed around at our association meeting last night was:

K punts.

R muffs the punt beyond the neutral zone.

Ball goes back behind the NZ and K recovers and ...

Doubtful R is going to be happy, regardless what K does at that point (unless they kick it again).
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2010, 09:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdoug View Post
Okay, I probably missed it when looking for it but could someone please give me a reference for this.
Sure, 6-2-1.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 07, 2010, 06:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by BroKen62 View Post
This happened to us the other night - K's ball 4th and 10 at their 40. Punt is straight up, hit the ground beyond the NZ, bounced back behind the NZ, comes to rest @37. K comes up, touches the ball, R comes in, picks it up and scores. We never blew it dead. Was that right?
Yes. A scrimmage kick recovered behind the neutral zone can be advanced by either team. 6-2-2, 6-2-3
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R in Punt Position Ed Hickland Football 10 Wed Aug 13, 2008 07:14pm
Punt ML99 Football 13 Tue Apr 22, 2008 01:35pm
Punt it Twice golfdesigner Football 2 Sun Sep 30, 2007 08:42am
punt yankeesfan Football 2 Sun Oct 16, 2005 05:53pm
FG used as punt cougarcoach Football 18 Fri Oct 07, 2005 12:59pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1