![]() |
|
|
|||
IG would be a bigger punishment to A but I suppose it depends if it truly is IG or not.
bsaucer, the illegal touching rule in NCAA is almost identical to the Fed rule. 7-3-11: Illegal Touching ARTICLE 11. No originally ineligible player while inbounds shall intentionally touch a legal forward pass until it has touched an opponent or an official (A.R. 5-2-3-I and A.R. 7-3-11-I-III). PENALTY—Five yards from the previous spot [S16].
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Under the NF code, INTENT is a requirement of both Illegal Touching (as explained above) and both types of an Illegal Pass relevant to this question.
NF: 7-5-2-c, "a pass intentionally thrown into an area not occupied by an eligible offensive receiver." NF: 7-5-2-d, "A pass intentionally thrown incomplete to save loss of yardage or to conserve time (exception: immediately after receiving a direct hand-to-hand snap). The question failed to indicate whether, or not, there was an eligible receiver in the vicinity of A77, or whether the pass was intended for A77. Those types of illegal forward passes are judgment calls that MUST include consideration of intent. |
|
|||
In fact, it's superior, since it explicitly prohibits intentionally touching a forward pass. The NFHS rule mentions "bats, muffs, or catches," which imply intent, but who cares what the ineligible is trying to do? Intentional touching is what we want to prohibit.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
True. The most reasonable argument would be that he was trying to throw it to somebody, just the "wrong somebody." Therefore, he wasn't trying to throw it away. Conversely, if he just throws it up and A77 runs under it, just because A77 caught it doesn't negate IG.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by tomes1978; Sun Aug 15, 2010 at 02:25pm. Reason: To correct grammer mistake. |
|
|||
Quote:
ART. 2 . . . An illegal forward pass is a foul. Illegal forward passes include: c. A pass intentionally thrown into an area not occupied by an eligible offensive receiver. PENALTY: intentional grounding (Arts. 2c,d) –(S36) – 5 yards plus loss of down for (Art. 2b, c, d, e) – (S9).
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Ha! Sorry, I should have read the post to which you responded!
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Quote:
No Illegal touching as the contact with A77 was unintentional, no illegal forward pass, as you would have seen the receiver cut and went one way while the passer was expecting him to cut the other way, so you might logically conclude there was no "intent" to incomplete the pass. This is the type situation where the wing official, or umpire, may have seen the confusion better than the Referee and should provide the Referee with his observation details. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Another kind of streak | Rich | Basketball | 11 | Sat Feb 13, 2010 06:57pm |
What kind of whistle do you use? | bas2456 | Basketball | 48 | Wed Apr 08, 2009 04:54pm |
what kind of comments/arguing from a coach constitute a technical foul? | thereluctantref | Basketball | 49 | Mon Mar 06, 2006 06:12pm |
I have seen it all. (kind of long) | JRutledge | Basketball | 12 | Thu Feb 21, 2002 07:45pm |
different kind of play.. | BenGilli | Baseball | 2 | Thu Jul 12, 2001 04:16pm |