The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 10, 2002, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 489
Smile

Rule 3-4-3i. The clock starts on the snap when the penalty for a delay of game foul is accepted.

Last Saturday, the referee started the clock on the ready after a delay of game penalty was assessed. The reason given was that the clock was running (previous play was a running play that ended inbounds).

My question is this: Does the referee have the authority under the rules to start the clock on the ready after a delay of game penalty is accepted? If so, what is the rule reference? I always thought that the clock starts on the snap after every delay of game foul if it is accepted.

Carpe Diem!
__________________
Mike Simonds
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1