The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 21, 2009, 06:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 118
I agree that it was incorrectly enforced based on your description. Once the field goal was no good and the play was over, the ball goes over to the other team. Any dead ball action happens after K had lost the ball on downs.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 21, 2009, 07:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim D. View Post
I agree that it was incorrectly enforced based on your description. Once the field goal was no good and the play was over, the ball goes over to the other team. Any dead ball action happens after K had lost the ball on downs.
Another question - After enforcement, is it 1st and 10? or 1st and Goal?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 21, 2009, 08:41pm
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
OT possessions in Fed are always goal-to-go.

NFHS Rulebook, "Resolving Tied games", page 88:
"To start overtime, the offensive team shall put the ball in play, first and goal, on the defensive team's 10-yard line or succeeding spot if a carry-over penalty has been administered, anywhere between the inbounds lines."

One would think that this would apply to the second team's possession as well, but a few paragraphs down:
"After the first team on offense has completed its series of downs, the first team on defense will become the offensive team with the ball in its possession at the 10 yard line anywhere between the inbounds lines"

Strangely, there is no mention of a succeeding spot possibility for the second team on offense.

However, then we have 3.1.1 situation D:
"When the regulation game ends in a tie, the teams use the recommended tie-breaking procedure. A wins the toss and elects to take the ball. A1 scores on the third down. After A1 crosses the goal line: (a) A2 clips B1; or (b) B1 strikes A2. Ruling: Dead-ball fouls in both (a) and (b). The score counts and the penalties in both (a) and (b) are enforced on the try, because that is the succeeding spot."

Change this situation from "sores a touchdown" to "scores a field goal", and the ruling remains the same.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 23, 2009, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by BroKen62 View Post
Another question - After enforcement, is it 1st and 10? or 1st and Goal?

It all depends on where your from. Missouri uses a modified overtime procedure which is similar to NCAA. For us it would be 1st & 10.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 24, 2009, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim D. View Post
It all depends on where your from. Missouri uses a modified overtime procedure which is similar to NCAA. For us it would be 1st & 10.
I live in PA. We use straight NFHS OT
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 24, 2009, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
probably be a long time before thatR does another playoff game!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 24, 2009, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Did not see the play in question but recently heard that a possible explanation was that the kick was blocked, was still behind the LOS when someone had the dreaded IW. A friend of mine saw it on TV and said that there was no yardage markoff, just a replay of the down. The IW scenario explains this better than an USC. The excessive celebration call was probably coming from one of the talking heads trying to figure out what was going on. Or if they actually did mark off half the distance (again I didn't see it) the IW would explain replaying the down, because the USC sure doesn't explain it.

Last edited by wvref1; Tue Nov 24, 2009 at 03:07pm. Reason: added info
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 24, 2009, 07:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by wvref1 View Post
Did not see the play in question but recently heard that a possible explanation was that the kick was blocked, was still behind the LOS when someone had the dreaded IW. A friend of mine saw it on TV and said that there was no yardage markoff, just a replay of the down. The IW scenario explains this better than an USC. The excessive celebration call was probably coming from one of the talking heads trying to figure out what was going on. Or if they actually did mark off half the distance (again I didn't see it) the IW would explain replaying the down, because the USC sure doesn't explain it.
That might make more sense. Rob King and Wolf on TV didn't know what was going on and the R did not get on the mic to give an explanation, so everyone was confused.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
incorrect number of outs IURef Baseball 3 Wed Apr 20, 2005 07:11am
incorrect server cards2323 Volleyball 5 Thu Sep 23, 2004 10:38am
incorrect direction from partner rcwilco Basketball 1 Tue Jan 13, 2004 01:51am
incorrect call mgaeta Volleyball 3 Thu Apr 17, 2003 08:06pm
incorrect # of freethrows RoyalsCoach Basketball 3 Thu Jan 23, 2003 05:38am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1