The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 02, 2009, 09:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 102
If you look at Case Book 3.5.11A ... 3rd & 8 from A's 45 when A1 throws and incomplete pass. The ball is erroneously spotted at the 50 for 4th down. K snaps & punts the ball into R's end zone. Per the Case Book Ruling, it is too late to make any corrections because the error had to be corrected before the ball was snapped.

If you adapt this ruling to the OP, the "4th down" counted once the ball was snapped and "it is too late to make any corrections because the error had to be corrected before the ball was snapped."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2009, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
The case book situation you are looking for is 5.1.1.A. You can correct a down error up to either a change in possession or a new series is awarded. Dick Schindler defined 'new series awarded' as when the referee signals first down.

So in the OP case, if the referee signaled first down for B, then you can no longer make a down correction.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
losing team wants ref apology archangel Basketball 119 Sat Mar 21, 2009 04:47pm
Losing confidence in partner DTQ_Blue Baseball 7 Tue Jun 19, 2007 06:30pm
Am I losing my mind? Mark Dexter Basketball 9 Sun Nov 18, 2001 08:55pm
Losing the box co2ice Basketball 3 Fri Jan 12, 2001 12:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1