The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 07, 2009, 09:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
illegal formation

If you have 7 men on the line of scrimmage, and 4 men in the backfield,and the center is the last man on the right, he does not have to be covered by an end,right?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 07, 2009, 10:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by joemato View Post
If you have 7 men on the line of scrimmage, and 4 men in the backfield,and the center is the last man on the right, he does not have to be covered by an end,right?
Right. He is the end.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 07, 2009, 11:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
...and an eligible reciever if he has the right # jersey...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitehat View Post
...and an eligible reciever if he has the right # jersey...
Right, unless this is a scrimmage kick (FG) formation, in which case he would be ineligible.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianola, Ia
Posts: 319
If this is 1st 2nd or 3rd down what numbering requirements if any do you have??
__________________
"Call what you see and see what you call!"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
Right, unless this is a scrimmage kick (FG) formation, in which case he would be ineligible.
No.

If it is a scrimmage kick formation meeting Rule 7-2-5b, the snapper could be eligible if he is on the end of the line and has an eligible number. Depending on the down, you could have other players with eligible numbers that are in under the numbering exception. This is covered in Rule 7-2-5.

Definitely, if the snapper is on the end of the line, he is not in under the numbering exception and if he has an eligible number, he is an eligible receiver.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppaltice View Post
No.

If it is a scrimmage kick formation meeting Rule 7-2-5b, the snapper could be eligible if he is on the end of the line and has an eligible number. Depending on the down, you could have other players with eligible numbers that are in under the numbering exception. This is covered in Rule 7-2-5.

Definitely, if the snapper is on the end of the line, he is not in under the numbering exception and if he has an eligible number, he is an eligible receiver.
Not sure if I agree with your interpretation of rule 7-2-5b excep. 1. I believe the intent of this rule is to make the snapper ineligble. Two reasons. #1 - why even have this rule if Team A could always justify that their snapper was eligible by saying that another lineman was using the numbering exception. #2 - to qoute the rule "if Team A has the snapper in the game under this exception, Team A shal have at least four players wearing numbers 50-79 on its line of scrimmage". The key words to me are "at least". This means that Team A could have 5 or 6 linemen numbered 50-79 in on this field goal formation, but the snapper is still ineligible and cannot be on the end of the LOS. I believe that if it is a 1st, 2nd, or 3rd down field goal formation, the snapper can be whatever number but will need to be between the ends and is an ineligible pass receiver unless the pass is touched by B. Still, it will be worth some discussion at our next meeting.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 08, 2009, 06:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by joemato View Post
If you have 7 men on the line of scrimmage, and 4 men in the backfield,and the center is the last man on the right, he does not have to be covered by an end,right?
You mean the snapper, right?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
You mean the snapper, right?
"Who" is the snapper, "What" is the TE.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Am I missing something? If a team is NOT using the "numbering exception" (they deploy 5 men numbered between 50-79 on the LOS) the snapper can wear whatever number he likes, and snap from wherever he chooses. If he happens to be wearing an eligible number, and snaps from either end of the line he would be eligible to catch a forward pass

If he snaps from anywhere inside the ends, on the LOS, it doesn't matter what number he wears but he will not be an eligible receiver, because of his "position".

ALL the numbering exception requirements apply ONLY when the numbering exception is used.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal Formation ChicagoLJ Football 21 Wed Oct 07, 2009 09:51am
illegal formation? yankeesfan Football 11 Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:45pm
NFL Illegal Formation Suudy Football 11 Mon Oct 23, 2006 03:44pm
illegal formation? yankeesfan Football 35 Mon Oct 03, 2005 09:16pm
Illegal Formation or Illegal participation? wgw Football 9 Mon Aug 29, 2005 09:31am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1