The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullycon View Post

If only four players are numbered 50-79, THEN the snapper must be between the ends and is ineligible, and the offense must be in a 2-14-2a scrimmage kick formation.
The rule definition contradicts your statement. It says "Team A shall have AT LEAST four players numbered 50-79 on its line of scrimmage". I believe the intent of the rule is to clarify how and when Team A can have the snapper with an eligible number on a 1st, 2nd, or 3rd down scrimmage kick...1. field goal formation, 2. the snapper is not on the end of the line and he is ineligible.

Last edited by CWIG; Fri Oct 09, 2009 at 02:45pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 04:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWIG View Post
The rule definition contradicts your statement. It says "Team A shall have AT LEAST four players numbered 50-79 on its line of scrimmage". I believe the intent of the rule is to clarify how and when Team A can have the snapper with an eligible number on a 1st, 2nd, or 3rd down scrimmage kick...1. field goal formation, 2. the snapper is not on the end of the line and he is ineligible.

The start of the rule (7-2-5b) is: 'At the snap, at least five A players on their line of scrimmage must be numbered 50-79.' Two exceptions are listed after this statement.

If you have five Team A players numbered 50-79, you are not under the exception.

In the OP, you have a player with an eligible number in an eligible position (end of the line). He is eligible by both numbering and position.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 04:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
If the numbering exception is being used, 0n 1st-3rd downs, a snapper with an eligible number may be used to satisfy the formation requirement of 5 linemen numbered 50-79, but he must snap from between the ends and is ineligible.

If there are already 5 linemen numbered 50-79, the numbering exception is NOT in play. Any number player can snap from anywhere on the line, and if he happens to choose either end, the combination of an eligible number in an eligible position would make him eligible for a forward pass.

The numbering exception requirements, like kicking rules don't apply when there is no kick, do not apply when the numbering exception is not used.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Center Eligible? Simbio Football 35 Wed May 13, 2009 02:25am
Extra Point Question pf7612 Football 10 Tue Jan 08, 2008 02:15pm
Center eligible? youmakethecall Football 10 Sun Nov 30, 2003 03:56pm
OU-UT extra point bigwhistle Football 5 Sun Oct 13, 2002 08:22pm
Extra Point Kick Smoke Football 17 Wed Sep 18, 2002 10:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1