The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 09:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
By the book, this is not a simultaneous catch as both players did not return to the ground at the same time..

Replay Official might have been able to overturn the ruling on the field if there was a camera angle or two from the opposite side. Unfortunately, there wasn't any such view. If anything he could have reminded the Referee that the Indiana player came down to the ground first... and if he had the ball, this could not have been a Simul-Catch. However, maybe he cannot even suggest that? I just don't know.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 10:17pm
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
A SEC guy (director of officiating or something)...

said the player that first returns to the ground is considered to have possesion over the player to second return to the ground. It apparently isn't considered a simultaneous catch unless both players return to the ground at nearly the same moment.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 11:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Returning to the ground implies that they left the ground in the first place. Neither player was airborne when the ball was caught. My opinion was simultaneous catch.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 12:29am
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally Posted by bisonlj View Post
Returning to the ground implies that they left the ground in the first place. Neither player was airborne when the ball was caught. My opinion was simultaneous catch.
I agree, simultaneous catch in my opinion. We'll never know the results of the review by the director of officiating for the BigTen, but I am sure that it will be part of a training video.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Indiana Camps Snake~eyes Basketball 2 Wed Apr 06, 2005 04:51pm
NC v. Indiana BBall_Junkie Basketball 9 Thu Dec 02, 2004 12:26pm
Bloomington, Indiana, ASA 16&Under A Bandit Softball 12 Fri Jul 30, 2004 05:03pm
This isn't Indiana Nevadaref Basketball 8 Sat Mar 13, 2004 10:55am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1