![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
The player reached up, undid the properly snapped strap, then went to the umpire for the equipment timeout, and then just snapped it again. My LJ has 11 years of experience but I think the act caught him by surprise.
__________________
Mike Sears |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Hitting them for 15 on this seems awfully onerous.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem |
|
|||
|
This is one of many things team B could do to prevent a quick play, possibly a scoring one, by A. I think you have to look at it and decide how badly B is beaten if they let the ball be snapped.
I think decades back someone in the office at either Fed or NCAA, when I was visiting them, said that in such a case no more than a standard penalty for USC would be justified, not an open ended unfair act equitable penalty. Which if it's true means a player of B who realizes in time what's going on can buy the prevention of a likely score for the price of a USC. The most reliable way, if they're close to the ball, would be for such a player to simply fall on it, because then officials couldn't just ignore it as they could with an encroachment "you didn't see", etc. Robert |
|
|||
|
It is not unsportsmanlike conduct it is hindering by using a tactic that is not really forbidden by rule.
9-9 is perfect and if the R feels a 15 penalty and start the clock and run ten seconds off he has rule support to do that. |
|
|||
|
First time, no. Second time, probably not. But I can guarantee there is going to be a strong warning to the coach that if it happens again he's going to elevate to a USC.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem |
|
|||
|
Just to make it clear. Time remaining in the quarter wasn't the issue. This was about 8 minutes to go in the 3rd quarter (or so). It was done simply because B was confused about the defense they were playing.
__________________
Mike Sears |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| The right call or the correct call? | Nevadaref | Basketball | 9 | Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am |
| ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
| To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
| More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |
| Does one call relate to the last call? | Tee | Basketball | 28 | Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm |