The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 17, 2009, 11:24pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reffing Rev. View Post
With 5 days until our first scrimmage our study group hit kick plays tonight!

Situation A: 4th and 10 at the 50. K1's low punt is blocked by R1 at the R48. The ball then bounces out to the flat and bounces off of K2 who is blocking R2 at the R40. The ball is then recovered at the K45 by K3 who advances to the R20.

Whose ball and where? When does the clock start?
Good play for discussion! I'll take the first one and leave the rest for others.

In this situation, R1's touching is ignored because it is a low scrimmage kick and the touching is within the expanded netural zone:

6-2-6: The touching of a low scrimmage kick by any player is ignored if the touching is in or behind the expanded neutral zone. The neutral zone shall not be expanded into the end zone.

We have first touching by K2 with a bean bag down at the R40. R will no doubt take the ball at the spot of first touching. 1st and 10 for R at the R40, clock starts on the snap.

Edit: I see ppaltice beat me to it. When Reffing Ref said the ball went bouncing out to the R40, I am picturing the kick being grounded before it is touched by K.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers

Last edited by Welpe; Mon Aug 17, 2009 at 11:29pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 18, 2009, 12:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: midwest/plains
Posts: 402
oops

I miss-typed the play but the original one is good too...the play we discussed tonight had K2 being blocked by R2 not the other way around. R2 is more likely to be blocking than K2 is.

So call this Situation A-corrected or whatever.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 18, 2009, 07:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reffing Rev. View Post
I miss-typed the play but the original one is good too...the play we discussed tonight had K2 being blocked by R2 not the other way around. R2 is more likely to be blocking than K2 is.

So call this Situation A-corrected or whatever.
So, play A*: touching in NZ ignored, R2, blocking K2, touches kick at R40, K3 recovers at K45 and runs to R20.

Since R2, not K2, touches the ball here, obviously no first touching by K2. The covering official will have to rule on whether R2 is blocked into the kick: if so, then we have first touching by K3 at K45. If not, then the ball belongs to K at R20 1/10.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 18, 2009, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
So, play A*: touching in NZ ignored, R2, blocking K2, touches kick at R40, K3 recovers at K45 and runs to R20.

Since R2, not K2, touches the ball here, obviously no first touching by K2. The covering official will have to rule on whether R2 is blocked into the kick: if so, then we have first touching by K3 at K45. If not, then the ball belongs to K at R20 1/10.

If R2 is judged as not having been blocked into the kick, and the ball was recovered behind the LOS, I agree that K3 can run with the ball. If the ball were recovered at the R45, K3 could recover, but not advance, so it would be K1@10 at R45. Correct?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 18, 2009, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by VALJ View Post
If R2 is judged as not having been blocked into the kick, and the ball was recovered behind the LOS, I agree that K3 can run with the ball. If the ball were recovered at the R45, K3 could recover, but not advance, so it would be K1@10 at R45. Correct?
Correct.

6.2.3 SITUATION A: A scrimmage kick by K1 is partially blocked in the neutral
zone by R1. The kick goes beyond the neutral zone where R2 muffs it back behind
the neutral zone. K2 recovers behind the neutral zone and advances across R’s
goal line. RULING: Touchdown for K. COMMENT: The right of the kickers to
advance their recovered scrimmage kick depends entirely upon whether the kick
is recovered in, behind or beyond the neutral zone. Whether the kick went beyond
the neutral zone and then rebounded behind it is of no consequence. The spot of
recovery is the only factor. If the recovery is in or behind the neutral zone, K may
advance. If the recovery is beyond the neutral zone, K may recover, but may not
advance
.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 18, 2009, 09:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: midwest/plains
Posts: 402
I apologize again...in our play R never touched the ball. R2 is blocking K2 at the R40 when the ball hits K2 then rebounds to the K45 where K recovers and runs to the R20.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 18, 2009, 10:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
6-2-6: ...The neutral zone shall not be expanded into the end zone.
Why does Fed add that? If a kick goes into the opposing end zone in Fed, it's a touchback unless it has a chance to score a goal, and R's touching it doesn't affect that. Is there some play situation I'm missing where if the neutral zone extended beyond R's goal line it would matter? Something about unforced vs. forced touching by K that affects its ability to score if that occurred in the neutral zone?

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
1st and goal at the one. A68 is just inside the EZ. A88 catches a forward pass in the EZ.

A68 is guilty of ineligible down field. Even though he was less than 2 yards from the LOS, the NZ cannot be expanded into the EZ.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 24, 2009, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppaltice View Post
1st and goal at the one. A68 is just inside the EZ. A88 catches a forward pass in the EZ.

A68 is guilty of ineligible down field. Even though he was less than 2 yards from the LOS, the NZ cannot be expanded into the EZ.
I forgot Fed has an expanded neutral zone even without its being a kick play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Love kick plays.... DrMooreReferee Football 22 Mon Aug 10, 2009 03:30pm
NCAA RULE STUDY GROUP Deager Football 14 Fri Oct 14, 2005 03:16pm
More kick plays James Neil Football 3 Fri Feb 20, 2004 08:50am
Kick plays James Neil Football 4 Tue Feb 17, 2004 05:03pm
Online Study Group davidfv1 Football 0 Fri Sep 12, 2003 02:43am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1