The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 07, 2009, 08:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMooreReferee View Post
Would someone who is really smart please look at rule 10-2-1 and then look at 10-2-3. And please tell me why I'm going crazy over this. I now sorta feel like the play I described above is just a DOUBLE FOUL, plain and simple. No options for anybody, just a double foul. When you read 10-2-1, it says ALL fouls committed by R are PSK fouls.... In the above example, both fouls are not PSK fouls, and I'm thinking that fact makes this a double foul with no options for either team.
I think that you're misreading 10-2-1. Here's the rule:

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2009 Football Rule Book
It is a double foul if both teams commit fouls, other than unsportsmanlike
or nonplayer, during the same live-ball period in which:
a. There is no change of team possession, unless all fouls committed by R are
post-scrimmage kick fouls, or
b. There is a change of team possession, and the team in possession at the
end of the down fouls prior to final change of possession unless all fouls
committed by R are post-scrimmage kick fouls, or
c. There is a change of possession and the team in final possession accepts
the penalty for its opponent’s foul at any time during the down.
In (a), (b) or (c), the penalties cancel and the down is replayed.
Here's the general principle: for a down where there's a COP, it's a DF if the team that ends up with the ball committed its foul(s) before gaining possession. See 10.2.1 A and B.

Now here's the exception: if the team that ends up with the ball fouls before gaining possession AND all of the pre-possession fouls are PSK fouls, then it's not necessarily a DF. R can keep the ball in this case by declining the penalty on K. That's the force of the PSK exception. See 10.2.1 C.

For your OP, this would be a DF only if R accepts the penalty for K's foul. It would then meet the criteria given in clause (c). R can keep the ball by declining the penalty on K. K then has a choice of which R foul to penalize.

The exception applies here because all of R's pre-possession fouls are PSK fouls. R also committed a post-possession foul, but that's irrelevant to the DF principle stated above.

You were correct that we cannot penalize both live-ball fouls by R, since they occurred during the same down (though one was PSK and one was post-possession).
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 07, 2009, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 150
ok, good discussion here...how about this?

what if we changed things up just a tad.

K's ball 4th and 5 at their own 40. K only has 6 men on the line and they punt the ball to R33, who catches the ball at his own 30. R72 holds K50 at the line of scrimmage. And then R17 blocks K10 in the back at midfield while the ball was in flight. R33 returned the ball to K's 20 and was tackled inbounds.

So, here we again have one foul on K and 2 on R. One of them is a PSK foul and the other is not. Is this a double foul?

If it is, explain to me the difference.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 07, 2009, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
R holding on the line is not a PSK foul, it is a loose ball foul. Here we have a double foul and we must replay the down.

See 2-16-2h3. For PSK, the foul must be beyone the NZ expanded.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 07, 2009, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppaltice View Post
R holding on the line is not a PSK foul, it is a loose ball foul. Here we have a double foul and we must replay the down.

See 2-16-2h3. For PSK, the foul must be beyond the NZ expanded.
That's right. In the new play R has committed a pre-possession foul that is not a PSK foul. Therefore, that foul does not qualify for the PSK exception. The general rule for DFs applies, so it's a double foul, replay the down.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interesting play............ Cajun Reff Softball 22 Sat May 31, 2008 01:09am
Interesting Play David B Baseball 23 Mon Jun 25, 2007 11:48am
An interesting play Patsfan2431 Football 14 Tue Oct 17, 2006 01:19pm
Interesting Play tzme415 Softball 5 Fri May 05, 2006 04:00pm
interesting play! refTN Basketball 37 Fri Aug 26, 2005 04:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1