The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 05, 2009, 10:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 150
Love kick plays....

During a punt, R1 retreats to his 4 yard line where he catches a scrimmage kick and his momentum carries him into his end zone where he fumbles the ball out into the field of play where K1 muffs the ball back into the end zone where R1 falls on it. During the kick, R2 held K2 at R's 18 yard line. RULING: Since the result of the play is a touchback, the PSK foul will be enforced from the all but one principal. Basic Spot is the 20, foul at the 18, so it will be R's ball 1st and 10 at R's 9 yard line.

OK, everyone tell me if this is right or wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 07:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
I believe this is wrong. The kick ended at the 4. Because R is the next to put the ball in play it is a PSK foul. The spot of the foul is the 18 and the end of the kick is the 4. Penalize half the distance from the 4 and it is R's ball first and 10 at the 2.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 08:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
I agree with Warrenkicker. The momentum exception does not apply to the OP because R1 fumbled the ball before it became dead in the endzone. The post-scrimmage spot for PSK fouls is the end of the kick, in this case R's 4. R's ball, 1/10 @ R's 2.

Had R1 NOT fumbled the ball, the momentum exception would apply. But since there was a foul, the basic spot would still be the end of the kick (not the 20 due to the touchback), and enforcement would be exactly the same.

So the fumble in the endzone is a red herring.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 08:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 150
Excellent job guys!!! Can't fool you.... but I thought this was a nasty little question.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 09:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: midwest/plains
Posts: 402
Assuming K1's muff is a new force...

If the fumble were still the force? safety. Penalty probably declined.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
I agree with Reffing Rev, we need to know if K supplied a new force to put the ball back into the EZ. Definitely if the penalty is accepted, the penalty is from the 4 (as that is the basic spot when the penalty occurred). But, if we rule the fumble from the field of field of play back into the EZ was the result of R (and not a new force by K), we have a safety.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 09, 2009, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Tb?

Sorry folks, I'm new at this so forgive what might be a rookie question. Why wouldn't this be an immediate Touchback once the ball and R crossed the goal line? Isn't it killed right there and penalty marked off from 20?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 09, 2009, 03:25pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Good question. It is not a touch back because it was not a kick that crossed the goal line. Once the R player possessed the kick, it was no longer a kick and instead became a running play.

Check out the Rule 2 definition of kicks:

2-24 Kicks:

ART. 2 . . . A kick ends when a player gains possession or when the ball becomes dead while not in player possession.

Then look at Rule 6-3-1:

ART. 1 . . . It is a touchback if any free kick or scrimmage kick:
a. Which is not a scoring attempt or which is a grounded three-point fieldgoal
attempt, breaks the plane of R’s goal line, unless R chooses a spot of
first touching by K.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 09, 2009, 09:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalewalk View Post
Sorry folks, I'm new at this so forgive what might be a rookie question. Why wouldn't this be an immediate Touchback once the ball and R crossed the goal line? Isn't it killed right there and penalty marked off from 20?
I agree with Welpe - great question. He quoted the rule correctly.

Remember, a kick is a kick until the play is over or until someone possesses it. Once it's possessed, if it comes loose, it's a fumble.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 09, 2009, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Momentum

I guess the momentum part led me to believe it would be a TB if he was falling back into the EZ by momentum. It appeared that he didn't go in deliberately.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 09, 2009, 11:30pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
The momentum rule doesn't cause the ball to become dead in the endzone. The momentum rule applies only IF the ball becomes dead in the endzone. For example, during a scrimmage kick, R22 catches the kick at the 4 and his momentum carries him into the endzone. Once in the endzone, he slips and falls with the ball in possession, which makes the ball dead in his possession in the endzone. At this point, you would have a touchback (instead of a safety).

8-5-2 is your reference.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 10, 2009, 06:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
The momentum rule doesn't cause the ball to become dead in the endzone. The momentum rule applies only IF the ball becomes dead in the endzone. For example, during a scrimmage kick, R22 catches the kick at the 4 and his momentum carries him into the endzone. Once in the endzone, he slips and falls with the ball in possession, which makes the ball dead in his possession in the endzone. At this point, you would have a touchback (instead of a safety).

8-5-2 is your reference.
No, you don't have a touchback. You have a ball put in play at the spot of the catch which is the 4 yard line. This would normally be a safety but the momentum "exception" give R the ball at the 4 instead.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Kick Plays DJ_NV Football 2 Fri Sep 29, 2006 03:52pm
I Love This Job.... brandan89 Basketball 13 Tue Jun 07, 2005 08:12am
More kick plays James Neil Football 3 Fri Feb 20, 2004 08:50am
Kick plays James Neil Football 4 Tue Feb 17, 2004 05:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1