The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 07:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
I believe this is wrong. The kick ended at the 4. Because R is the next to put the ball in play it is a PSK foul. The spot of the foul is the 18 and the end of the kick is the 4. Penalize half the distance from the 4 and it is R's ball first and 10 at the 2.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 08:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
I agree with Warrenkicker. The momentum exception does not apply to the OP because R1 fumbled the ball before it became dead in the endzone. The post-scrimmage spot for PSK fouls is the end of the kick, in this case R's 4. R's ball, 1/10 @ R's 2.

Had R1 NOT fumbled the ball, the momentum exception would apply. But since there was a foul, the basic spot would still be the end of the kick (not the 20 due to the touchback), and enforcement would be exactly the same.

So the fumble in the endzone is a red herring.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 08:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 150
Excellent job guys!!! Can't fool you.... but I thought this was a nasty little question.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 09:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: midwest/plains
Posts: 402
Assuming K1's muff is a new force...

If the fumble were still the force? safety. Penalty probably declined.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
I agree with Reffing Rev, we need to know if K supplied a new force to put the ball back into the EZ. Definitely if the penalty is accepted, the penalty is from the 4 (as that is the basic spot when the penalty occurred). But, if we rule the fumble from the field of field of play back into the EZ was the result of R (and not a new force by K), we have a safety.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppaltice View Post
But, if we rule the fumble from the field of field of play back into the EZ was the result of R (and not a new force by K), we have a safety.
You're talking about a quite different play. R's fumble put the ball OUT of the EZ. There was no fumble in the field of play.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 58
If R fumbles the ball from the EZ into the field of play, though, K can still provide force to put the ball back in the EZ through a muff. Can't they? Heck, I'd think it would almost HAVE to be a new force, wouldn't it?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Kick Plays DJ_NV Football 2 Fri Sep 29, 2006 03:52pm
I Love This Job.... brandan89 Basketball 13 Tue Jun 07, 2005 08:12am
More kick plays James Neil Football 3 Fri Feb 20, 2004 08:50am
Kick plays James Neil Football 4 Tue Feb 17, 2004 05:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1