![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
and it is an Illegal forward pass from the end zone.
c. A player on offense commits any foul for which the penalty is accepted and enforcement is from a spot in his end zone; or throws an illegal forward pass from his end zone and the penalty is declined in a situation which leaves him in possession at the spot of the illegal pass and with the ball having been forced into the end zone by the passing team. SECTION 43 TEAM DESIGNATIONS ART. 1 . . . The offense is the team which is in possession of the ball. The opponent is the defense. Once he caught the ball he was on offense, No? |
|
|||
c. A player on offense commits any foul for which the penalty is accepted and
enforcement is from a spot in his end zone; or throws an illegal forward pass from his end zone and the penalty is declined in a situation which leaves him in possession at the spot of the illegal pass and with the ball having been forced into the end zone by the passing team. Still the key is force, the team that intercepted still didn't apply the force that put the ball into the endzone. |
|
|||
8.5.1 SITUATION E: A1’s forward pass is intercepted in B’s end zone by B1 who
attempts to advance, but is downed there. B2 clips at B’s 3: (a) during B1’s run, or (b) after B1 is downed. RULING: It is a touchback in both (a) and (b) and the basic spot is the succeeding spot. In (a), it is first and 10 for B from B’s 1½-yard line. In (b), the dead-ball foul will be penalized from B’s 20 resulting in first and 10 from B’s 10-yard line. (8-5-3d; 10-4-4d) |
|
|||
Quote:
mich, I don't think you are reading that correctly. The part you ahv eunderlined is part of the clause that starts with "or throws an illegal forward pass from his end zone and the penalty is declined...", which is not the case we have here - presumably A will accept the penalty, and the enforcement spot for that penalty is B's, endzone, hence the first clause applies. |
|
|||
10.4.4 SITUATION B: A1 throws a pass from B’s 22-yard line. B1 intercepts the
pass in his own end zone and is tackled prior to leaving the end zone. During the run, B2 holds A2 at B’s 10-yard line. RULING: The basic spot is the 20-yard line. If the penalty is accepted, it will be enforced from the spot of the foul. B will have a first and 10 from its own 5-yard line. If the penalty is declined, it will be B’s first and 10 from B’s 20-yard line. |
|
|||
Neither casebook play has the foul occuring in the end zone after the COP; they're both in the field of play. The foul in the OP is enforced from the spot of the foul. Since the foul occured in the EZ, I've got a safety.
|
|
|||
Quote:
In this situation, Team B is now considered the offense because they are in possession of the ball. The offense committed the foul and it is enforced from the endzone, which is a safety.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
There is a case that is similar that involves momentum.
CASE 8.5.2, Situation F part (d). B1 intercepts on his own 4-yard line and his momentum takes him into B's end zone. (d) B2 holds A1 in the end zone as B1 is downed there. RULING: In (d), the foul by B2 occurred in the end zone behind the basic spot resulting in a safety. So, even though the basic spot is not in the end zone, the foul, which is behind the basic spot is in the end zone resulting in a safety. I think michrefdh needs to resolve the difference between offense/defense and Team A/B, and the difference between basic spot and spot of penalty enforcement. |
|
|||
Quote:
8-5 Art 3 d regarding touchbacks. Art 3 ...It is a touchback when: d. "A forward pass is intercepted in B's end zone and becomes dead there in B's possession." The example above is intercepted in the field of play. Still no case here involving the fact that the initial force putting the ball in the endzone was A. B whether on defense or now offense, never had possession outside of the endzone and they didn't apply the force, so if the ball becomes dead as above in B's possession, shouldn't it still be a touchback? |
|
|||
Mich - you're right, the casebook doesn't cover this exactly. But, you've also got a classic all-but-one enforcement here.
10-4, article 6: The basic spot is the 20 yard line for ouls by either team when the opponent of the team in possession at the time of the foul is responsible for forcing the ball across the goal line of the team in possession, and the related run ends in the end zone and is followed by a loose ball, regardless of where the loose ball becomes dead. All fouls but one are enforced from the basic spot. That one foul is a foul by the offense behind the basic spot, which are enforced from the spot of the foul. That's exactly what we have here, so the foul is enforced from the spot of the illegal forward pass. Since that spot's in the EZ, we've got a safety. |
|
|||
This provision is assuming no foul by B after the COP. No foul, touchback. Foul in the endzone, safety. Easy.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
![]()
Guys-
1) He threw an illegal forward pass because it was, a pass after team possession had changed during a down! 7-5-2a 2) It is a safety because A player on offense comitted a foul for which the penalty is accepted and enforcment is from the endzone. 8-5-2c 3) It is NOT a touchback because A forward pass intercepted in B's end zone DID NOT become dead there in B's possession 8-5-3d
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Touchback/Safety | mattmets | Football | 11 | Mon Sep 22, 2008 12:20pm |
Touchback or Safety? | jack015 | Football | 8 | Fri Aug 08, 2008 11:45am |
Safety or Touchback | gberry | Football | 18 | Wed Sep 27, 2006 03:12pm |
Safety or Touchback? | chiefgil | Football | 8 | Fri Jul 23, 2004 08:10pm |
Touchback or Safety | Ed Hickland | Football | 3 | Fri Jun 04, 2004 07:28am |