The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Jun 15, 2009, 09:37am
Official Forum Member

Is face tackling legal?

Hi everyone,
I am a youth football coach trying my best to understand the game of youth football. I hope I am in the right place for this question.

I was with our youth football league president and commissioner and were interviewing a first time potential youth coach for 7-8 year old kids.

I asked him how he plans on teaching tackling. His response was that he was going to teach them to put their face right between their numbers.

I eventually revisited that statement and said that he should not teach tackling that way and it is dangerous and might even be illegal.

The president and commish both disagreed with me and said you could teach tackling that way and it is legal.

Is this legal? Does anyone know if this is described in the NFHS rules?

I tried searching in the nfhs site but was getting some kind of database error.

Thank you for your help.
Old Mon Jun 15, 2009, 10:50am
Official Forum Member

Rule 9-4-3 Illegal Personal Contact
No player shall:
i. Initiate illegal helmet contact (butt block, face tackle or spear)

15 yds & possible disqualification depending if it's determined to be flagrant.

(this is from the 2007 book, so the reference number may be different in the new book)
Old Mon Jun 15, 2009, 10:55am
Official Forum Member

Youth Coach
The method of tackling and blocking that you describe has been illegal according to the NFHS rules since about the mid 1970’s. Please see NFHS rule 9-4-3i.
Generally with this type of contact, it is the tackler or blocker who gets hurt, not the player being tackled or blocked.
Why someone would want to teach this method of tackling or blocking is beyond my comprehension.