The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 06:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to Brandon Kincer
So just to be sure we are on the same page.......The two players on the ends of the line ARE eligible provided they are wearing an eligible number, Everyone in the backfield IS eligible provided they are wearing a eligible number, and everyone else is INELIGIBLE. (Assuming that its not forth down)

Am I Correct?

If I am, If one of the two ends or both of the two ends is off the line of scrimmage are they still eligible?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 07:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon Kincer View Post
So just to be sure we are on the same page.......The two players on the ends of the line ARE eligible provided they are wearing an eligible number, Everyone in the backfield IS eligible provided they are wearing a eligible number, and everyone else is INELIGIBLE. (Assuming that its not forth down)
First down, fourth down, it doesn't matter. A player's eligibility is determined my number and position. The number of the down has no relevance.

Quote:
If I am, If one of the two ends or both of the two ends is off the line of scrimmage are they still eligible?
If a player is not on the line of scrimmage he can not be an end.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltjp View Post
If a player is not on the line of scrimmage he can not be an end.
Direct and to the point.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 10:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to Brandon Kincer
ok I think im starting to get it. Thank you guys for clarifying what an "End" is. Now that its clear that the two ends are eligible by position, is EVERYONE who is a back eligible by position as well?

Also, If I see an ineligible downfield on pass where would I throw the flag and how would it be enforced? and If that ineligible reciever caught the pass does the ineligible downfield on pass penalty convert to illegal touching or is the opposing team givin the option?

Last edited by Brandon Kincer; Sun May 10, 2009 at 10:57am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon Kincer View Post
Also, If I see an ineligible downfield on pass where would I throw the flag and how would it be enforced? and If that ineligible reciever caught the pass does the ineligible downfield on pass penalty convert to illegal touching or is the opposing team givin the option?
The frequency of ineligibles downfield is largely related to the skill level of the players. When you do see an ineligible player downfield you want to consider where he is, what he's doing and how and why he may be there.

The first thing you want to be sure of, is that the pass is thrown and actually crosses the LOS. If a lineman has just wandered too far and is not affecting the play or actively blocking you may decide to simply mention something to him. If he is involving himself as a blocker, and he was down field BEFORE the pass was thrown, beyond the NZ, a penalty is likely in order.

Yes Illegal touching (formerly OPI) would be the second penalty he has commited. Illegal touching is a more severe penalty, adding Loss of down, to the 5 yd distance penalty for either foul, so it, alone, would be the infraction you report.

When you observe a player with an eligible # out flanked by another player with an eligible #, the inside player bears watching. As often as not, there's a good chance that the outside player lined up wrong, rendering the inside player INeligible, which the inside player may well not realize. (Make a mental note of the outside player's # as you may be asked for it).

If the inside player goes downfield for a pass, he's an ineligible downfield, and if he touches the ball it's Illegal touching. All the while he (and his coach) may have intended him to be eligible and only the action of his teammate took that status away from him, which neither player or coach may be totally unaware of.

Being prepared to inform the referee you have a foul against ineliible # XX, because he was covred by # YY can eliminate a lot of questioning.

If there is no forward pass, there's no foul and both offensive players are entitled to go downfield.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 07:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon Kincer View Post
Also, If I see an ineligible downfield on pass where would I throw the flag and how would it be enforced?
Since the enforcement for ineleigible downfield is a previous spot foul, there is no particular need to throw your flag to any particular spot.

But on the general subject of getting flags to a spot on the field....
I dont want my own newer guys wasting time by thinking about whether a particular foul requires a spot or not, so I try to encourage officials to always throw the flag toward the spot of the foul. Of course by that I mean toward the yard line of the foul first and foremost. Left or right across the field is not so important - having that too is a bonus. Of course it helps to sell the call when a flag is in the general area of the foul.
I've seen officials spend all their energy in throwing a flag 25 yds across the field and then have to go move it because it wasn't on the correct yardline. Common sense says aim for the correct yardline.
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon Kincer View Post
If one of the two ends or both of the two ends is off the line of scrimmage are they still eligible?
One of the most common points of confusion relating to understanding football rules is getting tied up in the "language" of football.

There are hundreds of terms or descriptions that capably and effectively describe very specific situations that simply cannot, or at the least should not, be used to describe other situations.

A commonly misused term is "end". Every line, including those in football has two ends, one on one side, one on the other. There are two inseparable requirements for any player, who is on the line of scrimmage to be eligible to catch a forward pass; he has to be standing on the outside edge, the "end" of either side of the line and wear a number between 1-49 or 80-99.

A "Back", basically, is anyone not on the line and behind it (Actual definition is NF: 2.32.3). If that back also wants to be eligible to catch a forward pass, he too, has to be wearing a number between 1-49 or 80-99.

If a player is wearing an eligible number, and is anywhere on the LOS, but either end, he's not eligible by position. If #88 lines up on one end, and #22 shifts to a position wider towards the sideline, and makes the mistake of moving up to the LOS, he's still an eligible receiver but he's taken eligibility away from #88, who is no longer on the end of the line.

Now, as often happens, when #22 steps up to the line, #88 takes a full step back, establishing himself as a "back", and he retains his pass catching eligibility.

Everyone harps on reading Rule 2, becuase it's so important to know and understand what the "official" definitions actually are. Thery are the only definitions that count and may be ever so slightly different than definitions all sorts of people use to try and describe things.

There is simply no getting around knowing and understanding Rule 2.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 10:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
One of the most common points of confusion relating to understanding football rules is getting tied up in the "language" of football.

There are hundreds of terms or descriptions that capably and effectively describe very specific situations that simply cannot, or at the least should not, be used to describe other situations.

A commonly misused term is "end". Every line, including those in football has two ends, one on one side, one on the other. There are two inseparable requirements for any player, who is on the line of scrimmage to be eligible to catch a forward pass; he has to be standing on the outside edge, the "end" of either side of the line and wear a number between 1-49 or 80-99.

A "Back", basically, is anyone not on the line and behind it (Actual definition is NF: 2.32.3). If that back also wants to be eligible to catch a forward pass, he too, has to be wearing a number between 1-49 or 80-99.

If a player is wearing an eligible number, and is anywhere on the LOS, but either end, he's not eligible by position. If #88 lines up on one end, and #22 shifts to a position wider towards the sideline, and makes the mistake of moving up to the LOS, he's still an eligible receiver but he's taken eligibility away from #88, who is no longer on the end of the line.

Now, as often happens, when #22 steps up to the line, #88 takes a full step back, establishing himself as a "back", and he retains his pass catching eligibility.

Everyone harps on reading Rule 2, becuase it's so important to know and understand what the "official" definitions actually are. Thery are the only definitions that count and may be ever so slightly different than definitions all sorts of people use to try and describe things.

There is simply no getting around knowing and understanding Rule 2.
Same thing that Walt said only with 324 words instead of 16.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaybird View Post
Same thing that Walt said only with 324 words instead of 16.
Have you ever considered talking to a professional, Jaybird, related to your compulsion about counting words, or are you just trying to mimmick a gnat?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
A "Back", basically, is anyone not on the line and behind it (Actual definition is NF: 2.32.3).
Brandon: Rules are designated with a dash as in 2-32-2. What ajmc quoted was from the Case Book. Case book plays contain periods.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 03:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdf5 View Post
Brandon: Rules are designated with a dash as in 2-32-2. What ajmc quoted was from the Case Book. Case book plays contain periods.
Actually it's just a habit of mine, kdf5, that I use periods instead of dashes when referencing rules. When I reference a Case Book play, I usually state that it's a Case Book reference.

I figured if anyone was interested enough to check the reference, they wouldn't have a problem. If you had bothered to look, you'd know there isn't a 2.32.3 reference in the Case Book, and if you were familiar with the Rule book, you'd know the definitions, themselves, are really only spelled out in the Rule book.

Forgive me if I caused you any undue confusion, if you don't understand something I've posted, ask for clarification, I'll do my best to help you out. If you're going to try and put words in my mouth, be kind enough to reference the correct reference number, dots and dashes aside, the actual reference number is what really matters.

Last edited by ajmc; Sun May 10, 2009 at 03:18pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2009, 07:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
Actually it's just a habit of mine, kdf5, that I use periods instead of dashes when referencing rules. When I reference a Case Book play, I usually state that it's a Case Book reference.

I figured if anyone was interested enough to check the reference, they wouldn't have a problem. If you had bothered to look, you'd know there isn't a 2.32.3 reference in the Case Book, and if you were familiar with the Rule book, you'd know the definitions, themselves, are really only spelled out in the Rule book.

Forgive me if I caused you any undue confusion, if you don't understand something I've posted, ask for clarification, I'll do my best to help you out. If you're going to try and put words in my mouth, be kind enough to reference the correct reference number, dots and dashes aside, the actual reference number is what really matters.
I didn't bother to look because I didn't care. I was simply letting him know the difference. He seems like a rookie and is asking some great questions on here and I simply distinguished one from the other. Your habit shouldn't get him confused.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2009, 08:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdf5 View Post
I didn't bother to look because I didn't care. I was simply letting him know the difference. He seems like a rookie and is asking some great questions on here and I simply distinguished one from the other. Your habit shouldn't get him confused.
It's really hard to imagine that anyone who is interested in the rules of football, or explaining them or understanding them would be confused because of dots and ashes?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2009, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
When the accepted conventions among officials is to use dashes for rule references and dots for case plays then yes, your methodology is confusing.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2009, 08:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
Actually it's just a habit of mine, kdf5, that I use periods instead of dashes when referencing rules. When I reference a Case Book play, I usually state that it's a Case Book reference.

I figured if anyone was interested enough to check the reference, they wouldn't have a problem. If you had bothered to look, you'd know there isn't a 2.32.3 reference in the Case Book, and if you were familiar with the Rule book, you'd know the definitions, themselves, are really only spelled out in the Rule book.

Forgive me if I caused you any undue confusion, if you don't understand something I've posted, ask for clarification, I'll do my best to help you out. If you're going to try and put words in my mouth, be kind enough to reference the correct reference number, dots and dashes aside, the actual reference number is what really matters.
Interpretation/clarification:
kdf5,
This is Al's long winded version of trying to say that he made a mistake. He is apologizing and begging your forgiveness.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ineligible Down Field F C E Football 11 Wed Oct 24, 2007 02:08pm
Ineligible or Not? Simbio Football 4 Wed Sep 26, 2007 05:41pm
Eligible/Ineligible? WyMike Football 19 Fri Oct 22, 2004 03:43pm
Ineligible downfield / OPI Wes Football 10 Wed Oct 13, 2004 09:45am
Eligible or ineligible receiver Derock1986 Football 18 Thu Dec 05, 2002 03:04am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1