The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 10, 2008, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 131
If the overruling official is a LJ in a 5-man crew, he has no business calling the players OB on the endline. At best, he could have had the players bobbling the ball. In HS ball, there is not enough teaching of officiating philosophies. When in doubt, it's not a catch. But even under a strict rule interpretation, it's a simultaneous catch and a touchdown.

Last edited by insatty; Fri Dec 12, 2008 at 03:27pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 10, 2008, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
I really hope this was a 6- or 7-man crew because the video from the Naples paper shows the line judge on the line-of-scrimmage when the ball is thrown. At the very end of the video it shows three officials, one of which could be that line judge, discussing the play. If the line judge got into that discussion it is highly unlikely that he would have had any information relating to the play. Only officials at or behind the goal line could have seen exactly what happened.

That said I think touchdown was the right call.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 10, 2008, 09:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by insatty View Post
...... In HS ball, there is not enough teaching of officiating philosophies. When in doubt, it's a catch. .....
I disagree with your statement..
From the NF Football Officials Manual, the guideline for "when in question"

(a) incomplete pass or fumble... incomplete pass.

(b) Catch or not ... no catch.

NCAA says the same thing... no catch.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2008, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 131
Theisey: You're correct. I misspoke. "When in question, the catch, recovery or interception is not completed." NCAA 2-2-7-e
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got my first playoff game. w_sohl Football 19 Fri Nov 09, 2007 02:42am
Playoff Game Big2Cat Basketball 11 Thu Feb 15, 2007 12:38am
NCAA question Re: USC/Florida game ChickenOfNC Football 10 Mon Nov 13, 2006 08:09pm
Auburn/Florida Game GoodwillRef Football 20 Wed Oct 18, 2006 02:21pm
sac or hit on game ending play? medinger2 Baseball 3 Tue May 03, 2005 01:19pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1