![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Hs version of jets ko play
It hasnt happened to me yet, and it seems that no one has a good answer for me yet. So here it goes. Rember the Jets KO play a couple of weeks ago in which the receiver had one foot on the side line and one on the field of play. In the NFL that is considered a kick out of bounds when the receiver touches the ball which is inbounds. I get that. However, the closest I can find in the fed book is a player who is touching the out of bounds line is out of bounds, and there fore a ball touching him is the same as if it were touching anything else out of bounds. So do we give the Rs the options for a kick out of bounds...or do we give the ball to the receivers at the spot that it was touched. Penalty or not?? Thanks in advance.
|
|
|||
|
Jon, you need to read the previous answers, although you are answering your own question. "there fore a ball touching him is the same as if it were touching anything else out of bounds", is absolutely correct, and if a free kick touches anything OOB, the free kick is OOB which is a penalty providing the multiple options.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Free kick OOB is the ruling here.
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at http://resources.refstripes.com If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted. |
|
|||
|
I believe R can also be guilty of illegal participation if they INTENTIONALLY go out of bounds and return. You would have to determine they intentionally stepped out of bounds to apply that rule here. I also think you can't call IP because they don't actually return (they are still out of bounds).
|
|
|||
|
Robert, very often trying to incorporate, or mix multiple, rules into situations that they do not relate to only causes confusion and distorts the logic behind the creation of those rules. The question of when, or whether, the ball is OOB due to the actions of a kicker or a receiver has little, if not absolutely nothing, to do with an Illegal Participation situation in all but the most obscure, imaginative possibility.
Viewing any rule, from a once in a billion, perspective can sometimes be an enjoyable exercise but is far more likely to leave unnecessary confusion and doubt in the minds of many who don't fully understand the "once in a billion" perspective. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Robert |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Favre goes to the Jets | Scrapper1 | General / Off-Topic | 11 | Sat Sep 20, 2008 11:08pm |
| was a force play, became a tag play ? | _Bruno_ | Baseball | 8 | Sun Aug 19, 2007 11:13am |
| Play-by-Play Commentary | FC IC | Basketball | 2 | Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am |
| CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? | David Clausi | Basketball | 6 | Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm |