The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Mich St/ Mich (https://forum.officiating.com/football/49530-mich-st-mich.html)

zenman Sun Nov 02, 2008 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jimpiano (Post 547583)
The rules in the end zone still require a receiver to come down with at least one foot in bounds


Progress can only be stopped by another player who prevents the player from touching the ground in the end zone. And this is not to be confused with causing an airborne player to land out of bounds. That results in an incomplete pass.

Despite your attempt to make the rules say what they do not, the picture of the play in question defies all your attempts to argue that black is white.

http://cmsimg.freep.com/apps/pbcsi.d...xH=650&title=0


ARTICLE 4. a. If a live ball is declared out of bounds and the ball does not
cross a boundary line, it is out of bounds at the ball’s most forward point
when it was declared dead (A.R. 4-2-4-I) (Exception: Rule 8-5-1-a, A.R.
8-5-1-I).

Incompleted Pass
ARTICLE 7. a. Any forward pass is incomplete if the ball is out of bounds by
rule or if it touches the ground when not firmly controlled by a player. It also is
incomplete when a player leaves his feet and receives the pass but first lands on
or outside a boundary line, unless his progress has been stopped in the field of
play or end zone
(Rule 4-1-3-p) (A.R. 2-2-7-III and A.R. 7-3-7-I).

JasonTX Sun Nov 02, 2008 06:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zenman (Post 548080)
ARTICLE 4. a. If a live ball is declared out of bounds and the ball does not
cross a boundary line, it is out of bounds at the ball’s most forward point
when it was declared dead (A.R. 4-2-4-I) (Exception: Rule 8-5-1-a, A.R.
8-5-1-I).

Incompleted Pass
ARTICLE 7. a. Any forward pass is incomplete if the ball is out of bounds by
rule or if it touches the ground when not firmly controlled by a player. It also is
incomplete when a player leaves his feet and receives the pass but first lands on
or outside a boundary line, unless his progress has been stopped in the field of
play or end zone
(Rule 4-1-3-p) (A.R. 2-2-7-III and A.R. 7-3-7-I).

SECTION 2. Touchdown
How Scored
ARTICLE 1. A touchdown shall be scored when:
a. A runner advancing from the field of play is legally in possession of a live
ball when it penetrates the opponent’s goal line (plane) (Exception: Rule
4-2-4-e) (A.R. 2-23-1-I and A.R. 8-2-1-I-IV).
b. An eligible receiver catches a legal forward pass in the opponent’s end
zone (A.R. 5-1-3-I and II).


Now look at the definition of catch.

To catch, intercept or recover a ball, a player who leaves his feet to
make a catch, interception or recovery must have the ball firmly in his
possession when he first returns to the ground inbounds with any part of his body or is so held that the dead-ball provisions of Rule 4-1-3-p apply.

From page FR-81: b. A player or an airborne player who touches a pylon is out of bounds.

Now what is all this about 4-1-3-p that you keep claiming to trump all this. If you notice that is the rule that your post uses as a reference as well as mine.

Here it is:
When an airborne pass receiver from either team is so held and
subsequently carried that he is prevented from immediately returning to
the ground.

You see, in the play in question, that player WAS NOT held or carried that it prevented him from coming to the ground. He was simply pushed and hit the pylon before touching the ground inbounds. Incomplete Pass.

TXMike Sun Nov 02, 2008 07:13pm

WHy do you guys waste your time? The zenman is cearly in another zone and his alternative reality makes this a TD He is so wrapped up over the "fact" that the pylon is "in the EZ" he cannot see the fact that it is OUT OF BOUNDS. In his mind, the receiver came to ground in the end zone..period. Fortunately for everyone he is not officiating football at any level.

JasonTX Sun Nov 02, 2008 07:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TXMike (Post 548092)
WHy do you guys waste your time? The zenman is cearly in another zone and his alternative reality makes this a TD He is so wrapped up over the "fact" that the pylon is "in the EZ" he cannot see the fact that it is OUT OF BOUNDS. In his mind, the receiver came to ground in the end zone..period. Fortunately for everyone he is not officiating football at any level.

Because my parents told me I would argue with a brick wall. :D

jimpiano Sun Nov 02, 2008 08:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zenman (Post 548080)
ARTICLE 4. a. If a live ball is declared out of bounds and the ball does not
cross a boundary line, it is out of bounds at the ball’s most forward point
when it was declared dead (A.R. 4-2-4-I) (Exception: Rule 8-5-1-a, A.R.
8-5-1-I).

Incompleted Pass
ARTICLE 7. a. Any forward pass is incomplete if the ball is out of bounds by
rule or if it touches the ground when not firmly controlled by a player. It also is
incomplete when a player leaves his feet and receives the pass but first lands on
or outside a boundary line, unless his progress has been stopped in the field of
play or end zone
(Rule 4-1-3-p) (A.R. 2-2-7-III and A.R. 7-3-7-I).

Neither citations are pertinent to the play in question.

Next?

zenman Sun Nov 02, 2008 11:19pm

[QUOTE=JasonTX;548088]SECTION 2. Touchdown
How Scored
ARTICLE 1. A touchdown shall be scored when:
a. A runner advancing from the field of play is legally in possession of a live
ball when it penetrates the opponent’s goal line (plane) (Exception: Rule
4-2-4-e) (A.R. 2-23-1-I and A.R. 8-2-1-I-IV).
b. An eligible receiver catches a legal forward pass in the opponent’s end
zone (A.R. 5-1-3-I and II).


Now look at the definition of catch.

To catch, intercept or recover a ball, a player who leaves his feet to
make a catch, interception or recovery must have the ball firmly in his
possession when he first returns to the ground inbounds with any part of his body or is so held that the dead-ball provisions of Rule 4-1-3-p apply.

From page FR-81: b. A player or an airborne player who touches a pylon is out of bounds.

Thanks this is what I was trying to find out since the rules for complete or incomplete pass was not that clear.

I did not see the exception in the end zone was the player had to be held.
or is so held that the dead-ball provisions of Rule 4-1-3-p apply

The incomplete pass said unless his progress has been stopped in the field of
play or end zone. The reference attached contained the exception.

I knew he had not touched the boundry line and since the pylon was in the end zone it seemed to indicate that all that was needed was for his progress to be stopped in the end zone.


Thanks

zenman Sun Nov 02, 2008 11:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TXMike (Post 548092)
WHy do you guys waste your time? The zenman is cearly in another zone and his alternative reality makes this a TD He is so wrapped up over the "fact" that the pylon is "in the EZ" he cannot see the fact that it is OUT OF BOUNDS. In his mind, the receiver came to ground in the end zone..period. Fortunately for everyone he is not officiating football at any level.

My parents said believe none of what you hear and half of what you see.

Sorry if I offended you I just wanted to get a better understanding of the ruling in this case. I assummed maybe mistakenly that that part of the purpose of this forum was for fans to get a better understanding of the rules.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1