![]() |
|
|
|||
NFHS 2-39 SNAP
Art. 1...A snap is the legal act of passing or handing the ball backwards from its position on the ground. Art. 2...The snap begins when the snapper first moves the ball legally other than adjustment. In a snap, the movement must be quick and continuous backward motion of the ball during which the ball immediately leaves the hand(s) of the snapper and touches a back or the ground before it touches an A lineman. Art. 3...The snap ends when the ball touches the ground or any player. Where was this not a snap? It is possible it was ruled a snap infraction if the snapper did not make a continuous movement. You had to be there! |
|
|||
Perhaps the official was thinking NFL rules. Prior to the 2008 season in the NFL, a snap that hit the ground prior to touching the QB was a 5 yard illegal procedure penalty. Of course, even this does not match the OP because the poster said the QB touched it which would have been a fumble even in the NFL pre-2008.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Snap infraction question | bcl1127 | Football | 8 | Wed Oct 08, 2008 09:30pm |
legal or snap infraction?? | MJT | Football | 5 | Tue Oct 23, 2007 09:03am |
Judgment calls on pre-snap and at-the-snap fouls??? | ChickenOfNC | Football | 18 | Tue Jan 09, 2007 01:44pm |
Snap Infraction or not? | ljudge | Football | 2 | Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:35am |
snap infraction | DanSummers | Football | 6 | Mon Nov 11, 2002 08:03pm |