Snap infraction question
So I had a play in a freshman game where the coach tried to out do himself and had the center hold onto the snap after the QB tapped the ball with his finger and hold it for about 3 seconds when a receiver came and grabbed it and ran with the ball. Now I called a Snap Infraction because the ball never left the centers had on the snap (the definition of snap has the requirement that the ball immediately leaves the centers hands). my question is with a snap infraction when is the play dead? Looking at the rule book it says that this is a dead ball foul (at least it tells you to give the dead ball signal) but I don't really think you can blow the play dead in the situation above.
Just curious as I have read about this type of play, just never actually saw it used in a game.
FYI - the coach was trying to tell me that because the QB brushed the ball with his fingers the play was legal, I told him that seeing the ball never left the hands of the snapper, it was a penalty. Then he told me that they have used the play 3 times already this year and it was never called a penalty.
|